TCA award winners

user-gravatar Headshot

MacKinnon, Marten take safety honors
The Truckload Carriers Association’s Grand Prizes in the 2001 National Fleet Safety Awards went to MacKinnon Transport, Guelph, Ontario, and Marten Transport, Mondovi, Wis. MacKinnon took top honors in the under 25 million miles category, while Marten won for the category of more than 25 million miles. MacKinnon also won the Grand Prize award in 1999. The awards are sponsored by The St. Paul Companies Inc.

Donald Bowman accepts TCA’s most prestigious award. Also pictured are TCA Immediate Past Chairman Bob Hansen and Bowman’s wife, Jone.

Bowman receives Past Chairmen’s Award
Donald Bowman, chairman of D.M. Bowman Inc., Williamsport, Md., received the TCA Past Chairmen’s Award at last month’s annual meeting in Las Vegas. The Past Chairmen’s Award is given to recognized industry leaders who make a significant contribution to the business community, the industry, and the Truckload Carriers Association. Bowman founded the company in 1959. Today, D.M. Bowman employs more than 600 people at terminal locations in six states.

Doug Spencer of CitiCapital commends Virginia DeRoze for her five years of service to the Professional Truck Driver Institute.

DeRoze receives PTDI award
The Professional Truck Driver Institute presented its fourth annual Lee J. Crittenden Memorial Award to Virginia DeRoze, who served as PTDI’s program manager from July 1996 to July 2001. DeRoze, who currently is director of education and training for the Truckload Carriers Association’s Truckload Academy, worked to standardize the PTDI application process and to bring stakeholders together to develop PTDI standards. The award is sponsored by CitiCapital.