TCA names National Fleet Safety division winners

user-gravatar Headshot

The Truckload Carriers Association has announced the 2004 National Fleet Safety Awards division winners, based on the fewest accidents per millions of miles driven.

The Division I first place winner is Rochester Cartage of Rochester, Minn. Gra-Bell Truck Line of Holland, Mich., and Haas Carriage of Sellersburg, Ind., came in second and third, respectively. Division I included companies with less than 5 million miles.

Glass IT of Newkirk, Okla., took first place in Division II. Second went to Best Cartage of Kernersville, N.C., and third went to Dupre Transport of Lafayette, La. Division II included companies with 5 million to 15 million miles.

The Division III first place winner was Christenson Transportation of Springfield, Mo. Second and third, respectively, went to Grand Island Express of Grand Island, Neb., and Pottle’s Transportation of Bangor, Maine. Division III included companies with 15 million to 25 million miles.

Raven Transport of Jacksonville, Fla., was the Division IV winner. Erb International of New Hamburg, Ontario, followed with second and then Kriska Transportation of Prescott, Ontario, with third. Division IV winners hauled between 25 million and 50 million miles.

The Division V first place winner was John Christner Trucking of Sapulpa, Okla. Second place went to Robert Transport of Rougemont, Quebec, and third went to Hogan Transport of St. Louis. Division V companies saw between 50 million and 100 million miles of road.

Celadon Trucking Services of Indianapolis, Marten Transport of Mondovi, Wis., and Smithway Motor Xpress of Fort Dodge, Iowa, took first, second and third place in Division VI, respectively. Division VI companies ran more than 100 million miles.

The National Fleet Safety Awards recognize companies committed to safety and accident reduction. Independent experts verified the top three division winners’ accident numbers. Accidents per million miles for all division winners ranged from zero to .4100.

Two grand prize winners will be selected from the division leaders, one with less than 25 million miles, the other with more than 25 million miles.

To win the grand prize, companies will be judged on their on- and off-highway safety programs. These include employee driver/independent contractor selection procedures, training, supervision, accident investigation and inspection and maintenance of equipment.

The grand prize winners will be announced March 8 at the TCA annual convention at the Bellagio Resort in Las Vegas.