Con-Way awards 139 college scholarships

user-gravatar Headshot

Con-Way recently awarded 40 new college scholarships and renewed 99 existing scholarships for children of company employees. This year, the scholarships totaled $134,450, including $94,550 in renewal awards; the students will use them when they go to school in the fall. Over the past 15 years, Con-Way has awarded more than $2.7 million in scholarships to 852 students.

Recipients of the awards are selected by the independent group Scholarship America, a national nonprofit student aid service organization. The new recipients are enrolled in four-year undergraduate and specialized technical school programs and are recognized for their exemplary academic achievement and strong extracurricular activities.

This year’s winners have selected a wide variety of academic majors including accounting, finance, business, education, engineering, foreign languages, journalism, medicine and political science.

Students who have a parent employed by a Con-Way company — including its major subsidiaries, Con-Way Freight, Menlo Worldwide and Con-Way Transportation — are eligible to apply after the parent’s third year of continuous employment. Awards may be renewed for as many as three years until a bachelor’s degree is earned.

The following students received new scholarships:

  • Lindsy A. Argus, O’Fallon, Ill. – University of Missouri
  • Cody A. Armes, Benton, Ill. – Southern Illinois University
  • Stefan A. Bartkowicz, Circle Pines, Minn. – University of Minnesota
  • Shannon C. Berg, Blue Bell, Penn. – New York University
  • Jaleesa L. Boykin, Richmond, Va. – Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Kassidi L. Bremer, Springfield, Mo. – Missouri State University
  • Lucy E. Bungo, Lancaster, N.Y. – Niagara University
  • Amy E. Calogero, Orion, Mich. – Central Michigan University
  • Jessica E. Campbell, McDonough, Ga. – Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Alecia D. Carmicheal, Kendallville, Ind. – Anderson University
  • Analuz Changano, Lindenhurst, N.Y. – Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Joel R. Cloninger II, Belton, S.C. – Clemson University
  • Michael A. D’Errico, Epping, N.H. – University of New Hampshire
  • Natalie J. Faust, Charlotte, N.C. – Lenior-Rhyme College
  • Andrew F. Felton, Saginaw, Mich. – Michigan State University
  • Danielle A. Gellings, Cambellsport, Wis. – University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • Jennifer J. Heaverlo, Nora Springs, Iowa – North Iowa Area Community College
  • Stephanie L. Hollingsworth, Leominster, Mass. – Bryant University
  • Courtney I. Jenko, Oxford, Mich. – Rochester College
  • Janelle E. Jensen, South Bend, Ind. – Purdue University
  • Shantia L. Jones, Austell, Ga. – Albany State University
  • Stacey B. Kendall, Benton, Maine – University of Maine
  • Crystal E. LeBlanc, Gladstone, Ore. – Brigham Young University
  • Kristie Llera, Miami – Florida Institute of Technology
  • Robert S. Low Jr., Shandon, Ohio – University of Cincinnati
  • Damian T. McClain, Houston – University of Texas at Austin
  • Ashley N. McGehee, Greenwood, Ark. – University of Arkansas
  • Andrew S. Miller, The Woodlands, Texas – University of Houston
  • Amber M. Minor, Wheeling, W.Va. – West Virginia University
  • Leslie L. Muggelberg, China Twp, Mich. – Saginaw Valley State University
  • Nicole L. O’Keefe, Brick, N.J. – Ramapo College of New Jersey
  • Kelsey J. Oliver, Grand Island, Neb. – Xenon International School of Hair Design
  • Kimberly A. Ostwald, Levering, Mich. – North Central Michigan College
  • Georgia A. Perry, Indianapolis – Indiana University
  • Kaitlyn J. Pirie, Hoosick Falls, N.Y. – Syracuse University
  • Smita Sarkar, Lisle, Ill. – Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Paige M. Schmit, Moberly, Mo. – Central Missouri State University
  • Adam W. Shilling, Reading, Pa. – Lebanon Valley College
  • Stacey K. Stokes, El Paso, Texas – New Mexico State University
  • Riley O. Vollmer, Lewisburg, Ohio – Ohio State University