Briggs named Landstar Safety Officer of the Year

user-gravatar Headshot

Landstar System has named Terry Morgan Briggs as its Landstar Safety Officer of the Year for 2005. The award was presented at Landstar’s annual convention held in Orlando, Fla., at the end of May. Briggs — safety officer for Freight 48 Logistics, an independent Landstar agency based in Covington, Ga. — works to instill Landstar’s safety-first philosophy in owner-operators, customers and the local public.

Candidates for Landstar Safety Officer of the Year are required to actively support all safety, security and compliance programs and initiatives on a consistent basis. In addition to working in tandem with their local LSO Region Council, they must participate regularly in Landstar’s Safety Thursday conference calls and loss prevention programs.

Briggs’ contributions to Landstar’s safety culture include her creation of a safety newsletter, and she also developed an incentive program to reward Landstar’s owner-operators — the company’s Business Capacity Owners — with the best response to a safety quiz posed in each issue. Briggs also has taken an active roll in promoting safety in her community by getting area schools involved in industry programs like Trucker Buddy, and by arranging “No-Zone” trailer presentations where students can experience for themselves what traffic looks like from the cab of a truck.

“Terry has demonstrated both initiative and innovation in promoting Landstar’s safety-first message to both BCOs and the general public,” says Henry Gerkens, president and chief executive officer for Jacksonville, Fla.-based Landstar. “This award reaffirms Landstar’s commitment to meeting the highest standards for over-the-road safety.”