35 driver finalists named to 2007-08 America’s Road Team

user-gravatar Headshot
Updated Dec 3, 2019

The American Trucking Associations has named 35 drivers as finalists in the selection process to become captains on the 2007-08 America’s Road Team, the trucking industry’s premier ambassador group, sponsored by Volvo Trucks North America.

The 35 drivers now move on to the final round of competition, which will be held Jan. 15-19, 2007, at ATA headquarters in Alexandria, Va. A panel of industry officials and trucking news media will judge the contestants on their knowledge of the trucking industry and safety issues; a battery of interviews will test their media and communication skills.

Once selected for America’s Road Team, the driver group will spend the next two years representing the U.S. trucking industry. The captains will travel across the United States speaking to the motor public, news media, civic organizations and legislators about how safe, secure, professional and efficient the trucking industry is. They also act as role models for the more than 3.2 million professional drivers in the United States.

“The overwhelming number of applicants and finalists for America’s Road Team Captains stands as a true testament to the dedication and professionalism of our hard-working drivers and their commitment to the public image of the industry in which they work,” says Bill Graves, ATA president and chief executive officer. “The 35 drivers named today are the best in the industry, and we are honored to have them participate in this important selection process.”

To be nominated to serve as a Road Team Captain, a driver must be employed as either a company driver for an ATA member motor carrier or as an owner-operator leased to an ATA member. Each nominee should have an excellent safety record and demonstrate an ability to communicate his or her commitment to safety, professionalism and courtesy. ATA will honor the 20th anniversary of the America’s Road Team with a yearlong celebration. The first ATA America’s Road Team Captains were named in December 1986.

“Once again, the U.S. trucking industry has provided us with a wealth of supremely qualified candidates for America’s Road Team,” says Scott Kress, senior vice president of sales and marketing for Volvo Trucks North America. “Volvo salutes these drivers, who demonstrate a professionalism and a dedication to safety that inspires us all. Volvo also salutes their employers, who show their commitment to safety and industry image by supporting the large investment of time required to be a Road Team Captain.”

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

The 35 finalists are:

  • Albert Adams, Roadway Express, Berlin Center, Ohio
  • Mark Bennecke, Covenant Transport, Hilham, Tenn.
  • Travis Boardman, FedEx Ground, Salisbury, Md.
  • David Bouchey, Titan Transfer, Bowling Green, Ky.
  • Bobby Brown, UPS Freight, Fort Worth, Texas
  • William Burton, Jevic Transportation, Kentland, Ind.
  • Ronald Coles, USF Reddaway, Kuma, Idaho
  • Dennis Conrad, Hogan Transport, Bolivar, Mo.
  • Wayne Crowder, FedEx Freight, Lanesville, Ind.
  • Dennis Day, Con-way Freight, Lawrenceville, Ga.
  • Tim Dean, Werner Enterprises, Griswold, Iowa
  • William Kent Durant, Roadway Express, Cheney, Kan.
  • Steve Eckhoff, Hogan Dedicated Services, Stover, Mo.
  • Steve Fields, Yellow Transportation, Independence, Mo.
  • Robert Foskey, UPS Freight, Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Jose Franco, UPS Freight, Avondale, Ariz.
  • James Gallagher, Roadway Express, Williamsville, N.Y.
  • Barry Holland, UPS Freight, Hurlock, Md.
  • Clarence Jenkins Jr., UPS Freight, Poca, W.Va.
  • Donald Jordan, Frito-Lay Transportation, Silver Lake, Kan.
  • Keith Johnson, Roadway Express, Eatonville, Wash.
  • Gary Leu, Wal-Mart Transportation, Shebina, Mo.
  • Kenneth Meyer, Yellow Transportation, Middletown, N.Y.
  • Dellonzo “Mack” McAdory, FedEx Ground, Rialto, Calif.
  • Daryl Perkins, FedEx Ground, Lawrenceville, N.J.
  • Ronald Phillips, Con-way Southern, Gray, Tenn.
  • Leland Ramey, MCT Transportation, Sioux Falls, S.D.
  • Richard Scholl, Roadway Express, Irondale, Ohio
  • Chris Serviss, Wal-Mart Transportation, Greensboro, Md.
  • Larry Shelton, Old Dominion Freight Line, King, N.C.
  • Anthony Sifford, FedEx Ground, Hillsville, Va.
  • Christopher Smith, ABF Freight System, Farmington, Utah
  • Tony Spero, ABF Freight System, Stratford, Conn.
  • James Starling, Wal-Mart Transportation, Clinton, N.C.
  • Rick Whittle, Bulldog Hiway Express, Summerville, S.C.