ATA honors industry leaders in security, loss prevention

user-gravatar Headshot

Two American Trucking Associations councils recently honored industry leaders for their commitments to security, loss prevention and human resources at a national conference and exhibition in Las Vegas, Nev. ATA’s Security Council, along with the association’s Safety and Loss Prevention Management Council, presented leadership awards, individual and company security awards and human resource management awards, and also recognized the top freight claims and loss prevention professionals.

  • Brian Shutt, manager of security at ABF Freight System in Fort Smith, Ark., was presented with the Security Council’s Leadership Award. The award is designed to honor council members who provide exceptional leadership in completing a council initiative and who also assist in program and membership development. Shutt has served as 2006 National Chairman of the Security and S&LPMC councils. During his tenure, he led the council’s efforts to secure cargo theft legislation.
  • Robert Petrancosta, director of safety and environmental compliance for Con-way Freight in Ann Arbor, Mich., received S&LPMC’s Leadership Award. Petrancosta is chairman of the council’s Regulations Committee, which provides a forum for reviewing and formulating safety and loss regulations and compliance.
  • Lois A. Beggs, manager of claims prevention for Pitt Ohio Express in Pittsburgh, was named Claims/Loss Prevention Professional of the Year. Beggs’ training programs resulted in Pitt Ohio’s impressive claims ratios, which consistently improve. As a 12-year veteran of freight claims management, Beggs also serves as the council’s Claims/Loss Prevention Committee chairman.
  • Roehl Transport, a Marshfield, Wis.-based truckload carrier, was presented the Excellence in Claims/Loss Prevention Award. Roehl Transport earned its excellence award for implementing a comprehensive claims/loss prevention management program that resulted in an outstanding claims ratio, claims frequency rate and continuous yearly improvement.
  • Jerry A. Easom, managing director of security for FedEx Freight East in Harrison, Ark., was named Security Professional of the Year. The honor is presented for an individual’s ability to design, implement and manage a successful security program that addresses traditional security concerns as well as encompasses the modern realities of terrorism and violence. Easom has 20 years of combined security experience as chief deputy for the second-largest Sheriff’s Department in Arkansas and at his current position as managing director of security for FedEx Freight East.
  • FedEx Freight East, a regional LTL carrier, was awarded ATA’s Excellence in Security Award as well as ATA’s first Excellence in Human Resource Management Award. FedEx Freight East worked with law enforcement in anti-terrorism initiatives, anti-narcotics programs and undercover vehicle and cargo theft investigations. With a staff of 179 workers, FedEx East’s Human Resources department serves 1,500 employees nationally. FedEx Freight East achieved outstanding retention rates and responded to employee needs effectively and consistently across all HR programs.
  • Greg Koepel, vice president of workforce development and administration for Roehl Transport, was presented with the first Human Resources Professional of the Year Award. Koepel consistently increased employee benefit offerings while decreasing costs, contributed to increased performance and improved retention practices. He currently overseas an HR staff of 60 employees who are responsible for HR management for nearly 2,000 employees nationwide.
  • Each of the winners will be recognized at ATA’s Management Conference and Exhibition in Dallas on Oct. 28-31. “The individuals honored represent true industry professionals,” said Bill Graves, ATA president and chief executive officer. “Their dedication and achievements serve as a solid reminder that trucking continues to lead the way in safety, security and innovation.”