Ag/food haulers conference announces record membership

user-gravatar Headshot

The Agricultural and Food Transporters Conference of the American Trucking Associations has announced that the total membership of the conference has reached 514 members, the highest in the 11-year history of the national organization. AFTC began in 1995 with 12 members.

“Over the past 11 years, along with its extraordinary growth, the organization has expanded the scope of services offered to keep pace with the diversity of its membership,” says Dave Schroyer, newly elected AFTC chairman. “There are many new challenges facing the agricultural and food transportation industry. The AFTC currently services members in the analysis and dissemination of information, in educational offerings, advocacy in the public arena and representation within the ATA structure.”

Schroyer, president of Schroyer Inc. in Celina, Ohio, was elected chairman with a new slate of officers and directors at the annual meeting of the conference on Oct. 30 in Dallas. Named first vice chairman was Richard Yost, vice president of V-Y Trucking in Sterling, Colo. Selected as second vice chairman was William Patterson, president of ADM Trucking in Decatur, Ill.

The new secretary for AFTC is John Whittington, vice president of Integrity Biofuels in Morristown, Ind. Elected as a new member of the board was Tom Lee, safety manager, Mile Hi Frozen Foods in Denver. Ed Rocha of Valley Enterprises in Oakdale, Calif., a founding member of the conference, was elected as an emeritus member of the board of directors.