ATA names 2007-08 America’s Road Team

user-gravatar Headshot

The American Trucking Associations announced Wednesday, Jan. 17, the members of the 2007-08 America’s Road Team. The group of million-mile, accident-free professional truck drivers will spend the next two years representing the trucking industry and delivering its highway safety message to the motoring public.

Sixteen captains, with a collective 366 years of experience and nearly 30.5 million safe-driving miles among them, were selected from a group of 35 finalists who competed this week before a panel of judges from the trucking industry and trucking media. The competition included a review of their knowledge of trucking industry safety issues, a test of communication skills and interview abilities, and a review of their community service.

“The captains of America’s Road Team represent the very best of our professional drivers and serve as goodwill ambassadors in advancing the image of trucking,” says Bill Graves, ATA president and chief executive officer. “As exemplary drivers and skilled communicators, we’re proud to have these drivers deliver trucking’s important messages of professionalism, safety and essentiality on behalf of the entire industry to the general public.”

The ATA created America’s Road Team in 1986, and it continues today with the support of Volvo Trucks North America. The Team represents America’s three million drivers and serves as an example of the professional dedication and teamwork needed to deliver America’s freight safely and on time.

After several weeks of “team driving” with the current Road Team, the new America’s Road Team Captains will hit the road “solo” speaking on behalf of the ATA to the news media and public. They will address transportation issues and spread the message of the trucking industry’s commitment to highway safety. Most importantly, Road Team Captains share safe driving tips and offer motorists advice on how to safely share the road with their large trucks.

The Road Team Captains also advocate safety to those within the industry at terminals and truck stops. They meet with fellow drivers, driver training students and corporate safety officers. They also have the opportunity to testify on trucking and safety issues before congressional hearings and at the state government level.

To be nominated to serve as a Road Team Captain, the candidates must be employed as a company driver or leased owner-operator by a full-dues-paying member of ATA. Each nominee must have an excellent safety record and demonstrate an ability to communicate a commitment to safety, professionalism and courtesy.

The new America’s Road Team members, who will serve from January 2007 through December 2008, are:

  • Albert Adams, Roadway, Berlin Center, Ohio;
  • William Burton, Jevic Transportation, Kentland, Ind.;
  • Wayne Crowder, FedEx Freight, Lanesville, Ind.;
  • Dennis Day, Con-way Freight, Lawrenceville, Ga.;
  • William Kent Durant, Roadway, Cheney, Kan.;
  • Steve Eckhoff, Hogan Dedicated Services, Stover, Mo.;
  • Steve Fields, Yellow Transportation, Independence, Mo.;
  • Jose Franco, UPS Freight, Avondale, Ariz.;
  • Clarence Jenkins Jr., UPS Freight, Poca, W.Va.;
  • Dellonzo “Mack” McAdory, FedEx Ground, Rialto, Calif.;
  • Richard Scholl, Roadway, Irondale, Ohio;
  • Chris Serviss, Wal-Mart Transportation, Greensboro, Md.;
  • Larry Shelton, Old Dominion Freight, King, N.C.;
  • Anthony Sifford, FedEx Ground, Hillsville, Va.;
  • Tony Spero, ABF Freight System, Stratford, Conn.; and
  • Rick Whittle, Bulldog Hiway Express, Summerville, S.C.