Montana, Pennsylvania recognize Con-way Freight drivers

user-gravatar Headshot

Con-way Freight, a less-than-truckload freight carrier and a subsidiary of Con-way Inc., announced that one of its drivers was recognized by the Montana Department of Justice as the recipient of the 2006 Montana Highway Patrol Meritorious Service Award. Con-way Freight also announced that two of its drivers were recognized by the Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association as Drivers of the Month in 2006.

Montana honor
Angelo McCloskey, a Con-way Freight driver from East Helena, Mont., was honored by the Montana Highway Patrol for his fast-thinking and emergency service at the scene of an accident. Capt. Gary D. Becker of the Montana Highway Patrol presented the Meritorious Award to McCloskey at a reception held at the Con-way service center in Butte, Mont., on Feb. 15. The Department of Justice’s Montana Highway Patrol Meritorious Service Award is presented to a civilian who displays exceptional public service on the highway.

McCloskey was nominated by the safety delegates of the Montana Motor Carriers Association after acting as a first-on-the-scene responder at a traffic accident north of Helena. McCloskey was driving northbound on Interstate 15 when he noticed road debris, which led him to look for further evidence of a crash or disabled vehicle. McCloskey discovered an overturned vehicle 50 feet down a ravine and immediately pulled to the side of the road. After quickly surveying the situation, McCloskey flagged down a motorcyclist to call 911. He then returned to the scene and assisted the driver of the crashed vehicle until authorities arrived.

“Our drivers pride themselves on consistently demonstrating exceptional safety habits,” says David S. McClimon, president of Ann Arbor, Mich.-based Con-way Freight. “Angelo McCloskey did all the right things. We are very proud of his selfless actions that day, and appreciate the Montana Highway Patrol’s recognition of his good deed.”

McCloskey began his trucking career with Con-way Freight and has been a driver for the past 19 years. During that time, he has accumulated an impressive safety record that includes close to one million safe driving miles. He is a member of Highway Watch, serving as a mentor and leader in his operation.

Pennsylvania awards
James Hoover, a Con-way Freight driver from New Castle, Pa., was honored as Driver of the Month by the PMTA in March 2006. Albert Draht, a Con-way driver from Wilkes-Barre, Pa., received the same award in May, and also was named PMTA’s Driver of the Year at its annual awards luncheon on Dec. 7, 2006.

PMTA’s Driver of the Year is selected by a committee of officials from the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, the Pennsylvania State Police Department and the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. In addition to the official entry form, the committee reviews a nomination letter outlining the driver’s accomplishments, including community involvement, and a current copy of the driver’s motor vehicle record. Letters received by the company on behalf of the driver, a note or letter from the driver or a member of his family, and any other information in support of the driver’s nomination also is reviewed. Drivers of the Month are selected by the PMTA’s Safety Management Council using similar criteria.

“Our drivers are exceptional people with top skills in the industry,” McClimon says. “We are extremely proud of the recognition that James Hoover and Albert Draht received from the PMTA last year.”

Hoover has been a truck driver for 37 years, including 20 years with Con-way Freight, where he earned his two-million-mile award for accident-free driving. Hoover serves as a mentor for new drivers.

Draht has been a commercial driver for more than 50 years and has been driving with Con-way Freight for 14. Draht has achieved an outstanding five million miles accident-free in his career and earned his one-million-mile award with Con-way Freight in September 2005.