Transport America driver advances to national championships

user-gravatar Headshot

Seven drivers from Transport America recently competed in the Minnesota Truck Driving Championships, with one driver from the company winning first place in his division and advancing to the national championships. The Eagan, Minn.-based company also recently announced its April 2007 Drivers of the Month.

Minnesota Truck Driving Championships

More than 100 professional drivers gathered in Burnsville, Minn., to compete in the MDTC, held June 8-10. The drivers vied for the top honor in various classifications. Transport America drivers competed in six of the eight classes.

Transport America’s Greg Payne, who took top honors in the sleeper berth class, advances to the August National Truck Driving Championships in Minneapolis, representing Transport America and the state of Minnesota for his classification.

Among the top finishers from Transport America were Keith Loging, who finished second in the five-axle class; and Alan Baumann, who finished third in the tanker class. Also representing Transport America at the MDTC were Keith McMurray in the three-axle class, Richard Grondahl in the four-axle class, Richard Zentner in sleeper berth and Joe Muscha in the straight truck class.

Drivers of the Month

The drivers were chosen and recognized for their outstanding service to Transport America and its customers during the past month. Each driver will be presented their award in a formal presentation at Transport America headquarters in Eagan.

Professional company drivers selected for the month of April were Fred Brinkman, with Transport America for seven months; Ronald Knapik, with the company for two years; and Jimmy White, previously Driver of the Month for April 2005, with Transport America for nine years.

Professional contractors were Steve Racinowski, with Transport America for four years and selected each of the past three years for this monthly award; Scott Doyle, with the company since March 2007; and Russell Rogers, with Transport America for five years.