Trucking Association Executives’ Council elects officers

user-gravatar Headshot

The Trucking Association Executives’ Council recently elected Karen Rasmussen as National Chairman for 2007-08 at its annual meeting in Destin, Fla. A resident of Phoenix, Rasmussen has been president and chief executive officer of the Arizona Trucking Association since 2001 and has worked in the trucking industry for almost 25 years.

Prior to joining ATA, Rasmussen worked for the California Trucking Association, Ryder System and for three Oklahoma governors. She serves on a number of trucking and transportation boards and committees.

Other national officers elected for 2007-08 are as follows: Vice Chairman: Kenneth E. Cragen, president of the Indiana Motor Truck Association; Secretary/Treasurer: Bob Farrell, executive director of the National Automobile Carriers Conference; and Recording Secretary: Elisabeth Barna, vice president of Strategic Planning and Outreach of the American Trucking Associations.

Regional Chairmen elected for 2007-2008 are as follows: Region I (Northeast): Anne Lynch, executive director of the Massachusetts Motor Transportation Association; Region II (Southeast): David Roberts, president of the Mississippi Trucking Association; Region III (Midwest): Larry Johnson, president of the Nebraska Trucking Association; and Region IV (West): Myron Rau, president of the South Dakota Trucking Association.

TAEC also recognized Paul Sudmeier, who retired this year from the Idaho Trucking Association; recognized ATA Past Chairman Pat Quinn for his extended term of service; recognized and welcomed Ray Kuntz as recently-elected ATA Chairman; and welcomed ATA Vice Chairman Glenn Brown.

Among the issues discussed during the meeting were Public Private Partnerships, tolling, the Single State Registration System (SSRS) and implementation of the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR), reauthorization of the Interstate Highway System, Highway Watch funding and other issues.

TAEC is comprised of staff executives of state trucking associations and conferences affiliated with the American Trucking Associations. The council serves to promote the trucking industry; contribute to the improvement of the associations and organizations established to serve the trucking industry; and advance the professional stature and capabilities of the managers and executives of such associations.