CalArk honors Driver of the Year

user-gravatar Headshot

At a recent employee appreciation luncheon, CalArk International announced the company’s 2007 Driver of the Year, as well as several other driving awards.

Allen Robertson, who was named CalArk’s 2007 Driver of the Year, was presented with a plaque and a $2,500 bonus. The annual award is based on a number of criteria: most miles driven, no preventable accidents, best fuel mileage, best log average, no moving violations and best on-time delivery.

Robertson, with more than 11 years of OTR experience, previously was named CalArk’s Driver of the Year in 2003 and 2004, and was second runner-up in 2006. Robertson, who lives in Merrillville, Ind., also was named Driver of the Year by the Arkansas Trucking Association in 2002, received CalArk’s award for Best Fuel Mileage in 2004 and is a member of the 2 million mile club.

Other driver awards also were presented at the luncheon: Curt Cline of Little Rock, Ark., was presented the 3 million mile award, and received a $5,000 bonus; Horace Hooper of Simms, Texas, received the award for Best Fuel Mileage in 2007; and Joe and Mary Hester received the award for most miles driven in 2007.

Dennis Hilton, safety director for Mabelvale, Ark.-based CalArk, presented the awards to each driver during the luncheon.