Calstart recognizes Blue Sky Award 2008 winners

user-gravatar Headshot

Calstart – a North American advanced transportation technologies consortium – has announced the winners of its Blue Sky Award 2008. The annual awards recognize outstanding marketplace contributions to clean air and energy efficiency – and to the clean transportation industry overall – by companies, organizations and individuals. A special awards ceremony and luncheon will honor the winners June 10.

The 2008 winners were selected as the top firms and individuals from among several dozens nominated internationally for their market leadership and real actions in advanced and green transportation. “This year’s Blue Sky Award winners represent the best in our expanding industry – taking real actions with real products to improve air quality, combat global warming, ensure our energy security and create sustainable jobs,” says John Boesel, Calstart president and chief executive officer.

The Blue Sky Award 2008 winners:

  • Eaton Corp., of Cleveland, won the Blue Sky Award for being the world’s first in developing and bringing to market both hybrid-electric and hybrid-hydraulic systems for medium and heavy commercial vehicles;
  • Business Region Goteborg of Sweden won the Charles R. Imbrecht Blue Sky Innovation Award for catalyzing Sweden’s use of biomethane as a renewable transportation fuel now powering 4,500 natural gas cars, trucks and buses and a commuter train;
  • Southern Counties Express Inc., of Los Angeles, won a Blue Sky Merit Award for buying a fleet of liquefied natural gas port trucks and operating an LNG fueling station that is available publicly to the port trucking community;
  • Union Pacific Railroad Co., of Omaha, Neb., won a Blue Sky Merit Award for the development, procurement and deployment of more than 150 ultra-low-emitting “genset” multiengine diesel switching locomotives; and
  • ZipCar, of San Francisco, won a Blue Sky Merit Award for its car-sharing program and its impact on the environment, reduction of parking demands, lessening of traffic congestion and greenhouse emissions.
  • The Blue Sky Award Judging Committee is made up of representatives from the American Lung Association, Calstart, Florida Power & Light, the Natural Resources Defense Council, Southern California Edison and the Union of Concerned Scientists.