NPTC presents FLEET Leadership Awards

user-gravatar Headshot

The National Private Truck Council presented its F.L.E.E.T. Leadership Awards at the group’s Annual Education Management Conference and Exhibition held April 27-29 in Cincinnati. Since 1990, the NPTC F.L.E.E.T. Awards (For Leadership, Enterprise, and Excellence in Trucking) are given annually to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to NPTC, their profession and the private trucking community.

  • The Private Fleet Executive of the Year, NPTC’s highest individual award, went to Haig R. Dikijian, CTP, safety program director for Verizon Logistics. Dikijian has been in the transportation industry with the same company for more than 43 years – formerly New York Telephone, Nynex, Bell Atlantic, and GTE – now Verizon Logistics where he oversees its safety program.
  • The Fleet Safety Professional of the Year Award was awarded to John N. Thompson, hazardous materials specialist for Matheson Tri-Gas. Including his current position, Thompson has worked in the industry more than 43 years ago with Airco Industrial Gases, which was later acquired by BOC Gases.
  • The Fleet Member of the Year Award went to John C. Hinton, transportation manager for Harris Teeter. Prior to his present position at Harris Teeter, Hinton was the director of transportation for a major automotive supplier for 27 years and has been in private-carrier management for more than 31 years.
  • This year’s Allied Member of the Year Award winner was Brian McLaughlin, executive vice president for PeopleNet. Since 2001, McLaughlin has been leading marketing, product development, communications and inside sales programs. He serves as the chairman of the PeopleNet Product Advisory Council. McLaughlin has nearly 20 years experience in developing and marketing advanced technology solutions to various industries, including transportation and financial services. He serves as vice chairman of the American Trucking Association’s Task Force for Onboard Recorders, and is an active member of many other industry associations.
  • The NPTC Membership Development Award honored Greg Mathein, formerly manager of traffic and transportation for Senco Products. Mathein has worked in private fleet management and transportation for more than 39 years. In his most recent capacity, he was responsible for global traffic and transportation management and fleet operations, and had worked for Senco Products for 34 years.
  • Daniel P. Smith of Smart & Final received the inaugural Daniel P. Smith Life Achievement Award, given to an individual who has made significant leadership contributions to the NPTC in helping advance the goals and objectives of the council, and whose personal traits of honor, integrity, tenacity and devotion to duty in making these contributions serve as an exemplary model for future NPTC-member private fleet professionals.