ATA picks National Truck Driving Championship design contest winners

user-gravatar Headshot

The American Trucking Associations has announced the winners of its inaugural National Truck Driving Championships Collectible Truck and Lapel Pin Design Contest. Designs were chosen based on capturing the essence of NTDC and the 2008 host city – Houston.

Each year, ATA unveils a new collectible truck and lapel pin to memorialize the current year’s competition. This year, anyone associated with the trucking industry – spouses and children included – were encouraged to submit their design ideas.

Kevin Miskiewicz, of Royersford, Pa., was one winner of the lapel pin design contest. Miskiewicz is a driver for Roadway and past competitor of the National Truck Driving Championships. To view his design, click here.

Patty Shirar, of Indianapolis, was another lapel pin design contest winner, as well as a winner of the collectible truck design contest. Shirar has been part of the trucking industry her entire life. Her husband has been driving for more than 30 years, currently for Heritage Environmental, and her father also was a professional truck driver. To view her truck design, click here. To view her lapel pin design, click here.

The winner of the onsite program contest was FedEx’s Keith Schmiedlin. He works out of their Moon Township, Pa. office. To view his design, click here.

The winners of the national design contest will be recognized in the onsite program in Houston as well as on the official National Truck Driving Championships website. The winners also will receive a complimentary collectible truck and lapel pin.