19 ABF state driving champions to compete in national event

user-gravatar Headshot

ABF Freight System is sending 19 championship drivers from 10 states to the 71th National Truck Driving Championships, set for Aug. 19-23 in Houston. Professional drivers earn the right to compete in the National Championships by winning state driving championships and by maintaining an accident-free driving record for the past year. Among the competitors representing ABF are seven repeat winners from 2007, including five former national champion drivers and four 2008 state driving grand champions.

“Continuous pursuit of excellence, as seen in the accomplishments of these drivers, is part of ABF’s corporate culture,” says Jim McFarlin, safety and security director for Fort Smith, Ark.-based ABF. “This year, we are particularly proud to send five former national champion drivers to represent ABF in this prestigious event. The commitment and leadership of such outstanding employees help ABF bring unmatched supply-chain solutions to our customers.”

Known informally as the “Super Bowl of Safety,” the annual event is sponsored by the Safety and Loss Prevention Management Council of the American Trucking Associations to promote driving safety among the nation’s three-million professional truck drivers. Competitive divisions include straight truck, three-axle, four-axle, five-axle, tank truck, flatbed, five-axle sleeper, twins or auto transporter. The comprehensive competitions include written examinations, personal interviews, pre-trip inspections and demonstrations of braking, parking, backing and maneuvering skills.