ATA’s S&LPMC names 2008 award winners

user-gravatar Headshot

ATA’s Safety & Loss Prevention Management Council announced its 2008 award winners at its Safety and Human Resources National Conference and Exhibition last weekend in Nashville, Tenn.

The ATA President’s Trophy recognizes the three companies whose fleets have been judged to have the best overall safety programs from the truck and industrial safety contests, which judge motor carriers from across the United States on their safety accomplishments and safety records relative to others within their operation type and size. The top three ATA President’s Trophy recipients are honored for their superior safety achievements, outstanding commitment to industrywide safety and extensive promotion of safety among all highway users:

2008 ATA President’s Trophy:

  • Large fleet winner (more than 100 million miles annually): Roehl Transport, Marshfield, Wis.
  • Mid-size fleet winner (between 25-100 million miles annually): Central Freight Lines, Waco, Texas
  • Small fleet winner (less than 25 million miles annually): CLI Transport, Claysburg, Pa.
  • ATA National Driver of the Year: David May, Con-way Freight, West Seneca, N.Y.

    National Safety Director of the Year: Douglas Cook, Covenant Transport, Chattanooga, Tenn.

    Human Resources Professional of the Year: Leslie Lundberg, Con-way Inc., Ann Arbor, Mich.

    Excellence in Safety Award: North Carolina Trucking Association

    Excellence in Human Resource Management: Roehl Transport, Marshfield, Wis.

    ATA S&LPMC Leadership Award: Douglas Cook, Covenant Transport, Chattanooga, Tenn.

    ATA’s S&LPMC is an organization of transportation professionals involved in safety, human resources, loss prevention and claims management for motor carriers and interested organizations. It aims to serve, promote and create value for members and the industry through advocacy, research, education, training and peer interaction.