ASE elects 2010 officers, governors

1517785877434 Headshot
Updated Jan 21, 2010

The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence recently announced the officers for its board of directors for 2010:

  • John Pfennig, manager of service education for Navistar Inc. in Warrensville, Ill., was elected chairman;
  • Roger Foss, national field support manager, Toyota Customer Services, Toyota Motors Sales USA, in Torrance, Calif., was elected vice chair;
  • Mike Phillips, vice president, Organizational Development, NAPA Auto Parts/Genuine Parts Company, Atlanta, was elected treasurer;
  • Rob Barto, manager, Technical Training Design, Nissan North America, Franklin, Tenn., was elected secretary; and
  • Joe Torchiana, president, One Stop Tire and Auto Service Inc. West Chester, Pa., assumes the role of past chair.

    “ASE’s success rests, in part, on our industry embracing the goal of voluntary certification for service professionals,” says Tim Zilke, ASE president. “The outstanding support of the ASE program by the organizations that encourage such talented people to serve on our all-volunteer board demonstrates their commitment to improving our industry.”

    Also announced were newly elected members to ASE’s board of governors, representing various segments of the industry such as manufacturing/distribution, service employees, service employers and more:

  • Monty Roberts, personnel recruiting and retention manager, BMW Group, Westwood, N.J.;
  • Michael Durkin, director, Dealer Service and Warranty Operations, General Motors, Grand Blanc, Mich.;
  • Brian Watkins, director of Training, Midas International, Itasca, Ill.;
  • David Helge, vice president Maintenance and Safety, Idealease Inc., North Barrington, Ill.;
  • Kevin Coogan, master diagnostic specialist, Lexus of Thousand Oaks, Thousand Oaks, Calif., and
  • David Fogle, shop foreman, Baker Motor Co., Charleston, S.C.

    Stepping down as their terms expired was Rod Davis, vice president of Dispute Resolution, Council of Better Business Bureaus; John Brekke, technician at Go Toyota Arapahoe; Jim Uffer, president of Truck Tech Inc.; and Bill Willis, president of Willis GM Automall & Willis Ford Inc.

    “I’d like to take this opportunity to thank our outgoing board members for their service over the years,” Zilke says. “Each of these individuals devoted countless hours to the betterment of our industry and the thousands of automotive service professionals who proudly wear the ASE Blue Seal. We thank them for their service and wish them continued success.”