Celadon to honor Master Truck Driver, Highway Angel recipients

user-gravatar Headshot

Celadon Trucking Services will recognize 19 drivers for earning the Indiana Motor Truck Association’s Master Truck Driver award at the company headquarters on Aug. 24 at 11:30 a.m.

Four other drivers also will gain the Truckload Carriers Association’s Highway Angel designation.

The Master Truck Driver award rewards Indiana’s safest truck drivers. All recipients either have driven one million accident-free miles, or have compiled a 10-year record of accident-free driving. This is in addition to being moving-violation free for the past three years.

The drivers receiving the Master award are Gordon and Joy Day, George Eastwood, Willard Ezzell, Jessie Geers, Evelyn Hall, Jeffrey Hanlin, Paul Harris, Jerry Irvine, Jim and Peggy Musall, Norbert Naquin, James Newsum, Esaw Parker Jr., William Poff, William Skiles, Douglas Smith, John Snyder and Ron Stevens.

The Highway Angel program awards drivers for performing “good deeds,” ranging from a simple act of kindness like fixing a flat tire, to heroic feats like pulling someone from a burning vehicle.

The Highway Angel inductees are Tony Hege, Rodney Riley, Jose Romero and Michael White.

The ceremony is one of several events that Celadon is hosting at various terminals as part of National Truck Driver Appreciation Week, Aug. 21-27.