TCA’s Fleet Safety Award division winners announced

user-gravatar Headshot

The Truckload Carriers Association today, March 6, announced the division winners of the 2006 National Fleet Safety Awards, which recognize companies that show a commitment to safety and accident reduction. The division winners are determined by accident frequency per million miles driven in each of six mileage divisions.

The top three division winners were selected and have been audited by an independent expert to verify their accident frequency numbers. Accident ratios per million miles for all division winners ranged from zero to .43, while the truckload segment of the industry averaged .54 accidents per million miles traveled.

From the division winners, two grand-prize winners are selected, one in the under 25 million mile category and one in the over 25 million mile category. To win the grand prize, companies are judged on their overall safety programs, both on- and off-highway, including employee driver/independent contractor selection procedures, training, supervision, accident investigation, inspection and maintenance of equipment, and outside activities including general highway safety.

The two grand prize-winning companies will be announced Tuesday, March 13, at the TCA annual convention at the Bellagio in Las Vegas, Nev. The top divisional winners based on low accident frequency per million miles are:

Division I Winners (Under 5 million miles)

1st Place: Specialty Transport, Knoxville, Tenn.
2nd Place: Rochester Cartage, Rochester, Minn.
3rd Place: Art Pape Transfer, Dubuque, Iowa

Division II Winners (5-14.99 million miles)

1st Place: FTC Transportation, Core Carrier for Feed The Children, Oklahoma City
2nd Place: Regal Service, Ripley, N.Y.
3rd Place: H.O. Bouchard, Hampden, Maine

Division III Winners (15-24.99 million miles)

1st Place: Cox Transportation Services, Ashland, Va.
2nd Place: Don Hummer Trucking, Oxford, Iowa
3rd Place: Convoy Systems, Kansas City, Mo.

Division IV Winners (25-49.99 million miles)

1st Place: Landstar Express America, Jacksonville, Fla.
2nd Place: MacKinnon Transport, Guelph, Ont.
3rd Place: Interactive Logistics, Cherry Hill, N.J.

Division V Winners (50-99.99 million miles)

1st Place: Groupe Robert, Boucherville, Quebec
2nd Place: Koch Companies, Minneapolis
3rd Place: Ozark Motor Lines, Memphis, Tenn.

Division VI Winners (More than 100 Million Miles)

1st Place: Bison Transport, Winnipeg, Manitoba
2nd Place: Mercer Transportation, Louisville, Ky.
3rd Place: Roehl Transport, Marshfield, Wis.