Top truck drivers selected for new America’s Road Team

user-gravatar Headshot

The American Trucking Associations on Thursday, Jan. 15, announced the captains of the 2009-10 America’s Road Team. The premier group of million-mile accident-free professional truck drivers will spend the next two years representing the trucking industry and delivering its highway safety message to the motoring public.

Eighteen captains, with a collective 468 years of experience and more than 30.7 million accident-free miles, were selected from a group of 34 finalists who competed this week before a panel of judges from the trucking industry and related fields. The competition included a review of trucking industry expertise and a demonstration of their communication skills, combined with their community service and lifetime safety records.

“The America’s Road Team is the best way the trucking industry can reach out to the motoring public to advance the image of the industry,” says Bill Graves, ATA president and chief executive officer. “These elite professional drivers combine impressive safety records with the desire to share their dedication and passion for safety. The trucking industry is proud to welcome these new captains as they serve as ambassadors, sharing trucking’s message of professionalism, safety and essentiality.”

ATA created America’s Road Team in 1986. The team, which continues today with the support of Volvo Trucks North America, represents America’s 3.5 million professional drivers and serves as an example of the professional dedication and teamwork needed to deliver America’s freight safely and on time.

“Volvo Trucks congratulates the outstanding drivers chosen to represent the U.S. trucking industry in 2009 and 2010,” says Scott Kress, Volvo Trucks senior vice president of sales and marketing. “Their driving records and complete professionalism demonstrate their commitment to safety and the pride they take in driving a truck well, every day. They make possible the benefit to society that the trucking industry delivers. Volvo also salutes their employers, since America’s Road Team wouldn’t happen without their support.”

While maintaining their jobs as full-time professional drivers, the new America’s Road Team captains now will travel the country speaking on behalf of the trucking industry to the community, news media and public officials. The captains will address transportation and safety issues, speaking at community events and anywhere they can reach the motoring public to share safe driving tips and offer advice on how to share the road safely with tractor-trailers.

The captains also advocate safety to those within the industry at terminals and truck stops. They speak with fellow drivers, driver training students and corporate safety officers. They also have the opportunity to present trucking and safety issues before public officials at the national, state and local levels.

To be nominated, the candidates must be employed as a company driver or leased owner-operator by a full dues-paying member of ATA. Each nominee must have an excellent safety record and demonstrate an ability to communicate a commitment to safety and professionalism.

The 2009-2010 America’s Road Team Captains are:

  • Gerald Charron, Con-way Freight, Danville, Vt.
  • Tim Dean, Werner Enterprises, Griswold, Iowa
  • Rich Ewing, Yellow Transportation, Bellingham, Wash.
  • John Foran, United Parcel Service, St. Albans, Vt.
  • James Gallagher, Roadway, Williamsville, N.Y.
  • Paul Gattin, ABF Freight System, Benton, Ark.
  • Ronald Hawkins Jr., K-Limited Carrier Ltd., Perrysburg, Ohio
  • Mark Hassemer, Yellow Transportation, Whitelaw, Wis.
  • Barry Holland, UPS Freight, Hurlock, Md.
  • Edward Hosegood, Publix Super Markets Inc., Lakeland, Fla.
  • Keith Johnson, Roadway, Eatonville, Wash.
  • Gary Leu, Wal-Mart Transportation, Shelbina, Mo.
  • Greg Nauertz, Roadway, Peoria, Ariz.
  • Kurt Pedersen, Con-way Freight, Surprise, Ariz.
  • Ben Saiz, ABF Freight System, Estancia, N.M.
  • Frank Silio, Covenant Transport, Miami
  • Jeffrey Thompson, FedEx Freight, Olathe, Kan.
  • Ron Van Bibber, Roadway, South Jordan, Utah