TCA names finalists for fleet safety, driver contests

user-gravatar Headshot

The Truckload Carriers Association announced 2008 division winners of its National Fleet Safety Awards, which recognize those companies that show a superior commitment to safety and accident reduction. TCA also announced three finalists each in its two annual driver contests. The winners will be recognized at TCA’s annual convention March 8-11 in Orlando, Fla.

The National Fleet Safety Award division winners now are eligible to compete for two grand prizes, one in the “under 25 million annual miles” category, and one in the “over 25 million annual miles” category. Below are the divisional winners based on low accident-frequency ratios per million miles:

  • Division I winners (under 5 million miles): 1st Place, Rocha Transport, Modesto, Calif.; 2nd Place, Crown LSP Group Inc., Rocky Mount, N.C.; 3rd Place, Frerichs Freight Lines Inc., Belleville, Ill.
  • Division II winners (5-14.99 million miles): 1st Place, Stone Belt Freight Lines Inc., Shoals, Ind.; 2nd Place, Glass Operating Group LLC, Newkirk, Okla.; 3rd Place, Landstar Gemini Inc., Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Division III winners (15-24.99 million miles): 1st Place, Stagecoach Cartage & Distribution LP, El Paso, Texas; 2nd Place, Witte Brothers Exchange, Troy, Mo.; 3rd Place, CRST Dedicated Services Inc., Birmingham, Ala.
  • Division IV winners (25-49.99 million miles): 1st Place, MacKinnon Transport Inc. Guelph, Ontario; 2nd Place, Freymiller Inc., Oklahoma City; 3rd Place, Kennesaw Transportation, White, Ga.
  • Division V winners (50-99.99 million miles): 1st Place, Carter Express Inc., Anderson, Ind.; 2nd Place, Landstar Inway Inc., Jacksonville; 3rd Place, Navajo Express Inc., Denver
  • Division VI winners (100+ million miles): 1st Place, Bison Transport Inc., Winnipeg, Manitoba; 2nd Place, Roehl Transport Inc., Marshfield, Wis.; 3rd Place, Hogan Transports Inc., Bridgeton, Mo.
  • The winning Company Equipment Driver of the Year will receive a Cummins-powered Dodge Ram, from Cummins and other sponsors; the contest is co-sponsored by CCJ‘s sister publication, Truckers News. The winning TCA Owner-Operator of the Year will receive a new LoneStar, the premium owner-operator model from Navistar’s International Trucks; the contest is co-sponsored by Navistar and another of CCJ‘s sister magazines, Overdrive. The winners and finalists also will receive prizes from other sponsors.

    The company driver finalists are John “Ralph” Boles of Bison Transport, Robert Harmeyer of Batesville Casket Co., and James Loveland of Willis Shaw Logistics. The owner-operator finalists are Gerald Clouse and Clark Lett, both of Dart Transit Co., and Wayne Lowe of FFE Transportation Services.