Bennett Motor Express honors 2008 Drivers of the Year

user-gravatar Headshot

Specialized freight transporter Bennett Motor Express announced the winners of its 2008 Drivers of the Year awards, which honor the company’s owner-operators who earn the highest safety and performance ratings throughout the year.

The two winners were selected from among BME’s nearly 700 owner-operators based on their safe driving history, customer service record and total number of years driving. Nominees included owner-operators from both BME’s heavy haul and general freight divisions who previously had been selected as Drivers of the Month during 2008.

“These Drivers of the Year have earned this honor based on their commitment to our safety culture, customer care and quality service,” says David Lowry, BME president. “We are proud that after more than 35 years in the industry, our winners continue to exceed industry standards for safe on-time delivery.”

BME Driver of the Year winners each will receive prizes including a plaque, custom jackets and apparel, as well as recognition on the Wall of Honor at the company’s headquarters in McDonough, Ga.

The 2008 BME Driver of Year winners are:

  • General Freight Driver of the Year: Robert S. Wilbur of Acworth, Ga., who joined BME in 1987. Wilbur is a member of the President’s Million Mile Club, which honors owner-operators who have driven a million safe accident-free miles; and
  • Heavy Haul Driver of the Year: John David West of Raeford, N.C., who became a BME owner-operator in 2006. West previously was honored as the September 2008 Heavy Haul Division Driver of the Month award.