Seven companies inducted to TCA’s Ambassador Club

Updated Mar 14, 2011

The Truckload Carriers Association has recognized 20 members who have held longtime memberships in the association. Seven of the companies were inducted into the organization’s Ambassador Club, while the other 13 were recognized for reaching milestones in their membership tenures. The ceremony took place Sunday, March 13, during the New Member Breakfast, part of TCA’s Annual Convention currently under way at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront and San Diego Convention Center in California.

Reed Trucking Co. of Milton, Del., reached 50 years of membership, for which it received a crystal globe recognizing its lengthy commitment to TCA. New inductees and companies that moved up to the next level within the Ambassador Club received plaques. Craig Transportation Co. of Perrysburg, Ohio, was the senior member of this group, moving up to the category of 70 years of TCA membership.

“TCA values the many years of affiliation we have had with the members of our Ambassador Club,” says John Kaburick, TCA’s chairman and the president of Earl L. Henderson Trucking Co. of Salem, Ill. “These are the companies that have been with us ‘for the long haul,’ providing their input, time and expertise for many decades to help define and shape the truckload industry into what it has become today.”

TCA established its Ambassador Club in 1996 as a way to honor companies that maintain memberships with the organization for 25 years or longer. After their induction, companies are honored every five years for their ongoing commitment to TCA and their industry. Special recognition is bestowed when companies reach the 50- and 75-year marks. With the addition of the seven newest inductees, there are now a total of 77 companies in TCA’s Ambassador Club.

The 2011 honorees are as follows:

• 70 years: Craig Transportation Company, Perrysburg, Ohio, Lance Craig, CEO and president
• 60 years: B & T Express Inc., North Lima, Ohio, Howard J. O’Malley Jr., chairman
• 60 years: Dameo Trucking Inc., Bridgewater, N.J., Rocque D. Dameo Sr., president
• 55 years: FFE Transportation Services Inc., Dallas, Russell Stubbs Sr., vice president and COO
• 55 years: Houff Transfer Inc., Weyers Cave, Va., Doug Houff, president
• 55 years: Refrigerated Food Express Inc., Avon, Mass., James L. Morse, president and CEO
• 50 years: Reed Trucking Co., Milton, Del., Blake Reed, president
• 45 years: Anderson Trucking Service Inc., St. Cloud, Minn., Rollie Anderson, president
• 45 years: CRST International Inc., Cedar Rapids, Iowa, John M. Smith, president and CEO
• 45 years: D.M. Bowman Inc., Williamsport, Md., Donald M. Bowman, chairman
• 40 years: Cresco Lines Inc., Harvey, Ill., Robert Stranczek, president
• 40 years: Sammons Trucking, Missoula, Mont., Tim Burke, president
• 30 years: Fairfield Trucking Inc., Hamburg, Ark., Diann Barnes, president and COO
• 25 years: Comdata Corp., Brentwood, Tenn., Brett Rodewald, executive VP and GM
• 25 years: Land Span Inc., Lakeland, Fla., Roger Reed, president
• 25 years: Pilot Flying J, Knoxville, Tenn., James Haslam, CEO
• 25 years: Swift Transportation Co., Inc., Phoenix, Dave Berry, vice president
• 25 years: TransCore, Beaverton, Ore., David Schrader, president
• 25 years: U.S. Xpress Enterprises Inc., Chattanooga, Tenn., Patrick E. Quinn, president and co-chairman
• 25 years: Venezia Inc., Royersford, Pa., Frank Venezia, president