North Dakota inspector shines at CVSA championship

user-gravatar Headshot

Fifty-four roadside inspectors representing jurisdictions across North America convened last week in Orlando, Fla., to compete in the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance’s North American Inspectors Championship. This year, John Sova, a CVSA-certified North American Standard inspector from North Dakota, was awarded the Jimmy K. Ammons Grand Champion Award for his combined performances in six competition elements, including the North American Standard Level I Inspection, North American Standard HazMat/Transportation of Dangerous Goods Inspection, and North American Standard Level I Motorcoach Inspection.

“We are proud to recognize and reward each of our 54 roadside inspectors from across North America who not only demonstrate their professional excellence and dedication to highway safety but inspire others to do the same,” says Stephen Keppler, CVSA’s executive director. “Their enthusiasm and passion goes a long way in advancing commercial vehicle safety and saving lives due to the information, techniques and experiences they will share with others in furtherance of improving uniformity in the enforcement of highway safety standards across the continent.”

“I applaud all the competitors who came from far and wide to be a part of this extraordinary contest,” said FMCSA Administrator Anne Ferro. “Their dedication to doing the best job possible helps us set the safety bar high for all inspectors and keeps trucks and buses operating safely on our highways. Their tireless commitment to safety is not only inspiring to us all, it saves lives every day.”
NAIC is managed by CVSA and funded in part by FMCSA. In addition to the Grand Champion award, the following additional awards were presented:
• High Points United States: John Sova, North Dakota;
• High Points Canada: Erik Eustace, Ontario;
• High Points Mexico: Armando Garcia, Mexico;
• North American Standard Level I Inspection: 1. John Sova, North Dakota; 2. Robert Iman, Maryland; 3.Derek Canard, Arkansas;
• North American Standard Level V Passenger Vehicle (Motorcoach) Inspection: 1. John Sova, North Dakota; 2. Erik Eustace, Ontario; 3. Robert Iman, Maryland;
• North American Standard Hazardous Materials/Transportation of Dangerous Goods and Cargo Tank/Bulk Packagings Inspection: 1. Benjamin Schropfer, Nebraska; 2. John Sova, North Dakota; 3. Derek Canard, Arkansas;
• John Youngblood Award of Excellence is a special award NAIC contestants bestow on a fellow NAIC inspector who exemplifies the high standards and unwavering dedication to the profession. This year one contestant overcame great personal loss when a tornado that ripped through Kansas in May destroyed his family’s home and everything they owned and yet still managed to represent his jurisdiction at this year’s NAIC. The award this year goes to Trooper Jeffrey Norling of the Kansas Highway Patrol; and
• Team Award: Blue Team: Team Leader – Diana Morales; Michael Rogers, Alaska; Chad Bernbeck, Colorado; Joseph Colman, Iowa; Robert Iman, Maryland; Benjamin Schropfer, Nebraska; John Sova, North Dakota; Ned Norita, Northern Mariana Islands; Erik Eustace, Ontario; and Garland Sponburgh Jr., Washington.