Iowa Motor Truck Association recognizes Decker Truck Line

user-gravatar Headshot

Decker Truck Line received recognition at the Iowa Motor Truck Association’s recent “Best of the Best” awards luncheon held in Cedar Rapids at IMTA’s Annual Management Conference. Through this annual safety contest, Iowa carriers are recognized for their outstanding safety efforts. The number of accident-free miles, driven, overall safety ratings and established safety programs within the company all are considered in the contest judging.

Officials from the Iowa Department of Transportation and Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration are involved in the review of all the participants and in the judging of the applications. IMTA, Iowa Council of Safety Management, Midwest Wheel Companies and Great West Casualty Co. sponsor the contest.

Rita Johnson of Decker’s Fort Wayne terminal was awarded the Dispatcher of the Year. Paul Gray was awarded the Iowa Fleet Maintenance Professional of the Year. Decker’s Davenport terminal was awarded the Iowa Fleet Maintenance Operations Award, Company; Chuck Harman accepted the award on behalf of the terminal. Dean Filmer was nominated as the 2011 Professional Driver of the Year.

Decker also received the 2011 Fleet Safety Award for Truckload Carriers over 10-15 million miles. Keith Lamfers, CDS, director of safety and compliance, accepted this award on behalf of the company; he also was recognized for completing the IMTA Leadership Program held in Des Moines in June.