TCA names National Fleet Safety Awards division winners

user-gravatar Headshot

The Truckload Carriers Association announced the division winners of its 36th annual National Fleet Safety Awards. Sponsored by Great West Casualty Co., the awards recognize trucking companies that demonstrate a superior commitment to safety and accident reduction.

“In my opinion, maintaining a stellar safety record is a group effort,” says Douglas Cook, chairman of TCA’s Safety & Security Division and vice president of safety for Chattanooga, Tenn.-based Covenant Transport. “A trucking company has to get every employee involved. Each of our 18 division winners has worked very hard at being the safest on the roads, and each deserves to be honored and recognized for its achievement.”

Fleets applying for the awards have completed the first of a two-step process. First, their accident frequency per million miles driven was calculated for each of six mileage-based divisions. The top three division winners were selected and have been audited by an independent expert to verify their accident frequency numbers.

The division winners will be recognized at an awards ceremony to be held during TCA’s Annual Convention – set for March 4-7 at the Gaylord Palms in Kissimmee, Fla. – as well as during TCA’s Safety & Security Division Annual Meeting, set for May 20-22 at the Embassy Suites Norman – Hotel & Conference Center in Norman, Okla.

All division winners now are eligible to compete for two grand prizes, one in the “less than 25 million annual miles” category and one in the “25 million or more annual miles” category. To win the grand prize, companies will be judged on their overall safety programs, both on- and off-highway, including employee driver/independent contractor selection procedures, training, supervision, accident investigation, inspection and maintenance of equipment, and outside activities, including general highway safety.

As with the division winners, the two grand prize winning companies will be honored at an awards ceremony to be held during TCA’s Annual Convention and then again during TCA’s Safety & Security Division Annual Meeting.

Below are the names of the 2011 top divisional winners based on low accident frequency ratios per million miles. Companies are listed according to the order that they placed within each category:

Division I Winners (Less than 5 million miles)
1. Rocha Transportation, Ceres, Calif.
2. Art Pape Transfer Inc., Dubuque, Iowa
3. Specialty Transport Inc., Knoxville, Tenn.

Division II Winners (5-14.99 million miles)
1. Southland Transportation Co., Boonville, N.C.
2. Houff Transfer Inc., Weyers Cave, Va.
3. Skyline Transportation Inc., Knoxville, Tenn.

Division III Winners (15-24.99 million miles)
1. Stagecoach Cartage & Distribution, El Paso, Texas
2. Grand Island Express, Grand Island, Neb.
3. Ace Doran Hauling & Rigging, Cincinnati

Division IV Winners (25-49.99 million miles)
1. Titan Transfer Inc., Shelbyville, Tenn.
2. Erb International Inc., New Hamburg, Ontario
3. N. Yanke Transfer, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Division V Winners (50-99.99 million miles)
1. Groupe Robert Inc., Rougemont, Québec
2. Navajo Express Inc., Denver
3. May Trucking Co., Salem, Ore.

Division VI Winners (100 million or more miles)
1. Bison Transport Inc., Winnipeg, Manitoba
2. Gordon Trucking Inc., Pacific, Wash.
3. Roehl Transport Inc., Marshfield, Wis.