ATA names safety director of the year

user-gravatar Headshot

The 2005 American Trucking Associations Safety Director of the Year is Rick Foster, Wal-Mart Transportation’s director of fleet safety.

Foster was honored at the ATA Safety and Loss Prevention Management Council’s National Conference and Exhibition in Miami on Oct. 3-5. The award is presented annually to the motor carrier safety executive whose professional qualifications, safety programs and achievements are considered outstanding.

Foster, based in Bentonville, Ark., is responsible for the safety and regulatory compliance of more than 11,000 fleet associates, which includes 7,904 drivers. He was given a check and ring for his achievement, and he also will receive a distinguished award plaque at ATA’s Management Conference and Exhibition in Boston on Oct. 15-18.