TCA names contractor, company driver finalists

user-gravatar Headshot

The Truckload Carriers Association has named finalists for its Independent Contractor of the Year and Company Equipment Driver of the Year.

The 38 finalists were chosen based on safety criteria measured by accident-free miles, driving record, moving violations and hours-of-service violations.

The contest is open to drivers who have logged more than one million miles and follow strict safety standards. The finalists represent 22 states and include three husband-and-wife driving teams.

Overdrive Magazine and International Truck and Engine Co. co-sponsor the Independent Contractor of the Year contest. Truckers News co-sponsors the Company Equipment Driver of the Year contest. Both magazines belong to the Randall-Reilly Publishing Co. family, as does Commercial Carrier Journal.

The Independent Contractor winner will get a new, fully loaded International tractor. The top five winners in both contests will receive numerous prizes, including cash, savings bonds, trucking supplies and gift cards donated by industry suppliers.

The finalists now are asked to provide more information for the final phase of the competition. The top three for both contests will be announced at the TCA 2006 Annual Convention at the Gaylord Palms Resort in Florida, March 12-15.

Independent Contractor of the Year contest finalists:

  • Daniel Beber, Warren Transport
  • Albert Beck, Dart Transit
  • Constance Beyer, Midwest Coast Transport
  • Lanny Beyer, Midwest Coast Transport
  • Alvin Courte, Contract Freighters
  • Dennis Grills, Sherman Brothers Trucking
  • Mark Hohensee, O&S Trucking
  • Elizabeth Jordan, Christenson Transportation
  • Paul Jordan, Christenson Transportation
  • Debra Jurashen, Landstar System
  • Robert Jurashen, Landstar System
  • Theodore Kasparie, Sammons Trucking
  • James Lyle, Dart Transit
  • Robert McCray, Warren Transport
  • Stacy Moran, Contract Freighters
  • Steven Recker, Warren Transport
  • Artie Reid, Dart Transit
  • Henry Shriver, Smithway Motor Xpress
  • Paul Stallibrass, Contract Freighters
  • Bridget Stanton, Pottle’s Transportation
  • Ronald Warner, Davis Transport
  • Carter Williams, National Carriers
  • Dean Winkcompleck, Ace Doran Hauling and Rigging

    Company Driver of the Year contest finalists:

  • Eric Bauman, Grand Island Express
  • Steven Bradford, Contract Freighters
  • Brett Campbell, O&S Trucking
  • Jay Coker, FFE Transportation
  • Dora Colvin, Contract Freighters
  • James Conner, Team Transport
  • Bobby Downes, O&S Trucking
  • Roger Elliott, Sherman Brothers Trucking
  • Dale Henderson, Marten Transport
  • Fred Howard, Arnold Transportation Services
  • Ricky Howell, Summitt Trucking
  • Kenneth Luther, Sherman Brothers Trucking
  • Barry Nauman, Marten Transport
  • Tim Setterlund, Marten Transport
  • Ruppert Stevens, Epes Transport System
  • Edward Teuscher, Team Transport
  • Robert White, Hogan Transports
  • Zimri Zirkle, Jet Express