Overnite inducts 14 drivers to All-Star Road Team

user-gravatar Headshot

Overnite Transportation, a UPS company, has inducted 14 drivers to its 2006 All-Star Road Team. Modeled after the American Trucking Associations’ America’s Road Team, Overnite’s All-Stars serve for one year, making public appearances to speak about safety issues and driver professionalism to students, trade groups, civic organizations and the media.

This year’s team, which collectively has put more than 240 years of experience behind the wheel, has logged some 15 million miles without an accident. Team membership is based on a driver’s safety record, community and company involvement, performance, communication skills and driving awards. Besides acting as truck safety ambassadors, the 2006 team will train new drivers in ATA’s Highway Watch program. Overnite was the first LTL carrier to enlist all of its drivers in the program.

The inductees are team captain Don Cooper, Sherman Moore, Brian Cooke, Tony Myers, Tray Hudgens, Alan Kendrick, Jerry Manning, Larry Emig, Joseph Johnson, Robert Hess, Eddie Meadows, Scott Raper, Joe Warren and Rafael Cano.