TCA confirms Pottle as chairman for 2006-07

user-gravatar Headshot

Barry Pottle, chief executive officer of Pottle’s Transportation in Bangor, Maine, has been elected as 2006-2007 chairman of the Truckload Carriers Association during the group’s annual meeting in Orlando, Fla. He previously had served as TCA’s first vice chairman. The swearing-in ceremony took place on Sunday, March 12.

Pottle, who began his trucking career in 1978 as an owner-operator, wants to use his year as chairman to bring attention to the truck driver shortage and encourage TCA members to think about their drivers’ needs in new and different ways. “I am here to tell you that the trucking companies can’t fix the problems alone,” Pottle says. “We need to get our customers and suppliers behind us as well.”

Other officers elected were:

  • First Vice Chairman: Jim O’Neal, president, O & S Trucking, Springfield, Mo.
  • Second Vice Chairman: Ray Haight, president and chief operating officer, MacKinnon Transport Inc., Guelph, Ontario, Canada
  • Secretary: Robert Baylor, president, Baylor Trucking, Milan, Ind.
  • Treasurer: Chris Kozak, president, Willis Shaw Express, Elm Springs, Ark.
  • Association Vice Chairman to ATA: Clifton Parker, president, G&P Trucking, Gaston, S.C.
  • Immediate Past Chairman: Dave Berry, vice president, Swift Transportation, Phoenix
  • Four at-large officers also were elected:

  • Kevin Burch, president, Jet Express Inc., Dayton, Ohio
  • John Kaburick, president, Earl L. Henderson Trucking Co., Salem, Ill.
  • Robert Low, president and founder, Prime Inc., Springfield, Mo.
  • Gary Salisbury, senior vice president and COO, Fikes Truck Line, Hope, Ark.
  • Top Stories