Schneider National recognizes Carriers of the Year

user-gravatar Headshot

Schneider National recently honored more than 26 carriers at the company’s fourth annual Carrier Recognition Conference on Sept. 12 at Lambeau Field in Green Bay, Wis. The daylong event featured keynote presentations from industry leaders, an awards ceremony recognizing Schneider’s top-performing carriers, and a networking reception.

More than 300 carriers from across North America came from all modes of transportation to attend the conference, “Transportation Transformation: Enhancing Your Value in the Shifting Global Supply Chain.” The day included discussions on industry issues impacting carriers and their businesses, including the driver shortage, rising fuel costs and the changing dynamics of the U.S. economy to an import-based system.

Brian Clancy, managing director of Merge Global, delivered a presentation, “The Hidden Costs of China Inbound Supply Chains,” and Donald Rataczak, regent’s professor of economic emeritus at Georgia State University, shared an economic outlook for the transportation and logistics industries.

Schneider Logistics honored 14 carriers with Carrier of the Year awards based on on-time performance, ease of doing business, claims performance, e-business capabilities and integration. Schneider’s Intermodal division recognized seven providers with Carrier of the Year awards. Three railroad service providers also were recognized for innovative solutions and service excellence. Five carriers received Carrier of the Year honors from Schneider Transportation Management.

“Our network of carriers provides the type of flexibility and available capacity our customers expect from Schneider,” says Todd Ericksrud, vice president of commercial development at Schneider Logistics. “By consistently providing this high level of service, we enable our customers to succeed in today’s ever-evolving supply chain. We are proud to recognize the service excellence of these core carriers and honor them as Carriers of the Year.”

2006 award winners include:

  • Schneider Logistics Carriers of the Year: Cardinal Transport (Coal City, Ill.); Hunt Transportation (Omaha, Neb.); Central Transport International (Warren, Mich.); TST Overland Express (Mississauga, Ontario); Triple Crown Services (Fort Wayne, Ind.); Merchants Forwarding (Melvindale, Mich.); Ottaway Motor Express (Woodstock, Ontario); Roadlink USA Midwest (Bethlehem, Pa.); Ryan Transportation (Livonia, Mich.); Milan Express (Milan, Tenn.); Standard Forwarding (East Moline, Ill.); The Connection Co. (Columbus, Ohio); J.B. Hunt Transport (Lowell, Ark.); and Ryder (Miami).
  • Schneider Intermodal Carriers of the Year: CDS Transport (Heber City, Utah); Shippers Transport (Carson, Calif.); TGS (Fresno, Calif.); Cargo Transport Logistics (Commerce, Calif.); Polyak (Menomonee Falls, Wis.); JVCA (Grayson, Ga.); and J&J (Wayne, Ill.).
  • Rail Innovative Solutions Award: CSX Intermodal (Jacksonville, Fla.); and Kansas City Southern Railway (Kansas City, Mo.).
  • Rail Partner in Progress Award: Norfolk Southern Railway (Atlanta).
  • Schneider Transportation Management Carriers of the Year: Heartland Express (Coralville, Iowa); M&D Transfer (Manteno, Ill.); ATA (Bensenville, Ill.); J&R Schugel (New Ulm, Minn.); and Celadon (Indianapolis).