Landstar honors its newest Roadstars

user-gravatar Headshot

Landstar System recently has recognized 19 business capacity owners as Landstar Roadstars. This lifetime achievement award is the highest level of recognition a BCO can receive at Landstar. BCO is Landstar’s term for the independent contractors who provide the company with transportation capacity under exclusive lease arrangements.

This year’s class of Landstar Roadstars was acknowledged at a dinner in their honor during Landstar’s annual convention in Marco Island, Fla. Only a select few BCOs are honored each year. These 19 men and women were chosen out of more than 8,000 current Landstar BCOs.

The addition of this year’s class raises the total number of Landstar Roadstars to 285 who have been honored since the company began presenting the award in 1990. Roadstars are honored for their consistently high levels of safety, productivity and excellent customer service. Each also has been previously recognized as a Landstar Million Mile Safe Driver.

“As Roadstars, these men and women epitomize the qualities which make Landstar uniquely successful — entrepreneurship, the drive to be their own boss, and a commitment to safety and excellence in customer service,” says Henry Gerkens, president and chief executive officer of Jacksonville, Fla.-based Landstar. “We’re proud to recognize their impressive achievements as elite professionals who deliver what only the best of class can.”

The Class of 2006 Landstar Roadstars inducted this year are: Ray Anderson, Houston; Frank Beltran, Dallas; Diane Benjamin, Loves Park, Ill.; William Cleary, Marion, Ala.; Dennis Depoy, New Market, Va.; Paul Gardner, Vail, Ariz.; Ralph Griffin, Tomball, Texas; Ron King, German Valley, Ill.; Dennis Lewer, Mosinee, Wis.; Andy Millar, Radford, Va.; Greg Ousley, Hueysville, Ky.; Paul Peterson, Grand Rapids, Minn.; Bob Plymale, Bronson, Fla.; Terry Reed, Leicester, N.C.; Cletus Renninger, Thompsontown, Pa.; George Stephens, Houston; Chuck Vaughan, Columbus, Ohio; Bob Wagnell, Corbin, Ky.; and Ronald Walker, Monticello, Ky.