Ryder honors Rental Master, sales award recipients

user-gravatar Headshot

Ryder System, a provider of transportation and supply chain management solutions, recently announced it has inducted two employees into its Rental Master organization. The Miami-based company also honored the 2006 national winners of its sales awards.

Rental Masters

Founded in 1979, Rental Master recognizes outstanding achievement in rental performance and management.

This year’s Rental Masters are Andrew A. Nichols, rental account manager for the company’s Houston region; and Raymond G. Viers, rental account manager for the Cincinnati region. “I am honored to have these dedicated employees as part of our organization and congratulate them for their stellar achievements,” says Greg Swienton, Ryder’s chairman and chief executive officer.

Rental Master also awards annual scholarships to assist the continuing education of outstanding employees; the scholarships are funded by the personal contributions of Rental Master members and matched by Ryder. This year’s first-place Rental Master Scholarship of $4,600 was awarded to Raqia Herbert of Orlando, Fla. Also, a $2,825 scholarship was awarded to Debbie Frazier of Alpharetta, Ga., and a $1,825 scholarship was awarded to Girish Vengurlekar of Ann Arbor, Mich.

Top salespersons

Founded in 1995, the Sales Excellence award recognizes those salespersons who have helped to drive profitable growth for Ryder by reaching demanding sales targets for the year and achieving high marks for customer satisfaction. The seven honorees were recognized at a recent ceremony near Ryder’s global headquarters in Miami.

These individuals represent the company’s top-performing sales professionals in 2006 for both growth and retention in the following sales positions: Keith Deshaies, director of national accounts; Jeff Doss, business development manager; Davy Futrell, rental account manager; Jerry Lineback, vice president of business development; Mike Mason, director of business development; Eric Paquette, customer and business development manager; and Rick Torgerson, customer development manager.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

“The Sales Excellence award was established to recognize and reward qualified individuals in all participating divisions,” Swienton says. “It is a goal which has been set to encourage managers to provide distinctive customer service and meet or exceed Ryder customers’ expectations. These individuals have distinguished themselves as being among Ryder’s ‘Best of the Best,’ and it is an honor for me to congratulate them on their stellar achievements.”

Ryder also honored its national winner of the company’s Vehicle Sales Team Excellence award for used truck sales performance in 2006. Founded in 1995, the Team Excellence award recognizes vehicle sales managers and vehicle sales center managers who sell Ryder’s preowned vehicles quickly and profitably, and also receive high marks for customer satisfaction. The winner was Kerry Autrey, vehicle sales manager for the company’s Birmingham, Ala. region.

“Ryder’s ‘Road Ready’ used vehicles are sold with a number of additional benefits such as complete maintenance records and vehicle warranties,” Swienton says. “Kerry has distinguished himself as being among Ryder’s best at communicating these important ‘Road Ready’ benefits to his customers while delivering an excellent customer experience throughout the entire sales process.”

Four Team Excellence scholarship awards, totaling $12,000, also were presented to further the education of relatives of Ryder employees. A $5,000 scholarship was awarded to Jessica Fernandez of Miramar, Fla.; a $3,000 scholarship was awarded to Andres Daubar of Cooper City, Fla.; and $2,000 scholarships were awarded to Danielle Rhein of Cordova, Tenn., and Benjamin Weber of Tampa, Fla.

Roundtable awards

Established in 1966, Ryder Roundtable is the oldest of Ryder’s recognition awards and honors those who have made outstanding contributions to lease and supply chain sales efforts.

This year, 13 members were honored: Jonathan P. Abby, business development manager, Farmingdale, N.Y.; Joe Baggio, customer development manager, Kitchener, Ontario; Jan Bogdanowicz, customer development manager, East Syracuse, N.Y.; Mark Garipay, customer development manager, Boston; Fraser Hansen, business development manager, Mississauga, Ontario; Harry Kalsbeek, customer development manager, Burlington, Ontario; John Kim, business development manager, Fort Worth, Texas; Jerry Lineback, vice president of business development, Spring Hill, Tenn.; Tony Nuttall, business development director, Coventry, England; Susan Phillips, director of national accounts, Fort Worth; Michael Rush, customer development manager; Elkhart, Ind.; Douglas Scepura, business development manager, Baltimore, Wash.; and David Walby, business development manager, Farmington Hills, Mich.

In 1973, the Roundtable organization began a scholarship program to help children of full-time Ryder employees further their education; the scholarships are funded by the personal contribution of Roundtable members and are matched by the company. This year, $30,000 in scholarships were awarded.

This year’s first-place Roundtable Scholarship of $10,000 was awarded to Amy Kendig of Cumming, Ga. A $7,500 scholarship was awarded to Jessica Taylor of Kittrell, N.C. Michael Moses, of Geneva, N.Y., and Stephanie Lazarus, of Orlando, Fla., each were awarded a $5,000 scholarship. A $2,500 scholarship was awarded to Jessica Waite of Lansing, Mich.