DOT appoints ITS advisory council members

user-gravatar Headshot

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Research and Innovative Technology Administration has announced the selection of Joseph M. Sussman, Ph.D., to chair the department’s Intelligent Transportation System Advisory Committee.

Sussman is the J.R. East Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and the Engineering Systems Division at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Robert Peter Denaro, vice president of Navteq Corp., has been chosen as vice chair.

The Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU) mandated the creation of the council to act in an advisory capacity to the Secretary of Transportation concerning the study, development and implementation of intelligent transportation systems. The next meeting is scheduled for March 13 in Washington, D.C.