America’s Road Team ties record number of captains bound for NTDC

user-gravatar Headshot

The America’s Road Team will have 12 captains competing at the National Truck Driving Championships this year in Houston, tying the record number set last year. NTDC, considered the “Super Bowl of Safety,” will allow the America’s Road Team to showcase their millions of accident-free miles and superb driving skills to thousands of attendees and participants.

In addition, Road Team Captains will collect money for the Texas-based charity Associa Cares, an organization that helps neighborhoods across America who are in financial crisis due to natural and man-made disasters. Captains also will assist in the NTDC blood drive again this year.

The American Trucking Associations created the America’s Road Team ( in 1986 as a national public outreach program to promote safety and professionalism within the industry and educate the general public. Sponsored by Volvo Trucks North America, America’s Road Team is led by a small group of professional truck drivers who travel the nation sharing their superior driving skills, remarkable safety records and strong desire to spread the word about highway safety, driver professionalism and the essentiality of the trucking industry.

“Volvo is very proud of the America’s Road Team program and the professional drivers who are its safety ambassadors,” says Scott Kress, senior vice president of sales and marketing for Volvo Trucks North America. “The qualities which led them to be chosen for the Road Team are some of the same qualities which make them such effective and skillful drivers. We wish the participating Road Team captains and all other competitors good luck, success and happy memories for this year’s NTDC.”

ATA’s Truck Driving Championships include top professional truck drivers from across the nation competing at state and regional levels to make it to the national competition Aug. 19-23 in Houston. The NTDC annually attracts more than 2,000 cheering friends, family, colleagues and spectators. For more information, visit the 2008 NTDC website.

2008 NTDC America’s Road Team Competitors:

  • Wayne Crowder, FedEx Freight (Lanesville, Ind.) ’07-’08 America’s Road Team
  • Jerry Cudmore, Yellow Transportation (Castlewood, S.D.) ’91 America’s Road Team
  • Kent Durant, Roadway (Cheney, Kan.) ’07-’08 America’s Road Team
  • Ralph Garcia, ABF Freight System (Rio Rancho, N.M.) ’05-’06 America’s Road Team
  • Scott Harris, ABF Freight System (North Greenbush, N.Y.) ’99 America’s Road Team
  • Clarence Jenkins, UPS Freight (Poca, W.Va.) ’07-’08 America’s Road Team
  • Roger Lanham, UPS Freight (Winfield, W.Va.) ’96 America’s Road Team
  • David May, Con-way Freight (West Seneca, N.Y.) ’05-’06 America’s Road Team
  • Daniel Poole, The Boeing Co. (Ravensdale, Wash.) ’01 America’s Road Team
  • Larry Shelton, Old Dominion Freight Line (King, N.C.) ’07-’08 America’s Road Team
  • Tony Spero, ABF Freight System (Stratford, Conn.) ’07-’08 America’s Road Team
  • Bernard Zadrozny, Roadway (Bristol, Conn.) ’96 America’s Road Team