Earl L. Henderson’s Kaburick elected TCA chairman

user-gravatar Headshot

John Kaburick, owner and president of Earl L. Henderson Trucking Co., Salem, Ill., has been elected as the 2010-11 chairman of the Truckload Carriers Association. The swearing-in ceremony took place Wednesday, March 3, during the association’s Annual Convention at the Wynn Las Vegas in Las Vegas, Nev.

The list of committees, management panels, and task forces Kaburick has served on over the years is extensive, including terms on the ATA Affiliation Task Force, Benchmarking Management Panel, Carrier/Shipper Relations Committee, Committee on Operating Practices, Highway Policy Committee, “Just in Time” (Improving Efficiency on the Docks) Management Panel, Membership Committee, Regulatory Policy Committee and TCA Communications & Image Policy Committee.

From 2003-2007, Kaburick moved up the ranks as secretary/treasurer, vice chairman, chairman and immediate past chairman of TCA’s Refrigerated Division. He has served on the board of directors since 1999 and has been a member of the Executive Committee since 2005. His officer positions have included at-large officer (2005-07), secretary (2007-08), second vice chairman (2008-09), first vice chairman (2009-10) and now chairman. Since last year, Kaburick has been serving as chairman of the TC-01 Benchmarking program. While Kaburick’s role in TCA has grown steadily over the years, he also has been involved actively in the American Trucking Associations and the Illinois Transportation Association.

During his year as chairman, Kaburick hopes TCA members and staff can focus on certain legislative issues that have been surrounding the trucking industry for some time. He cites the potential electronic onboard recorder mandate, Comprehensive Safety Analysis 2010 and sleeper berth regulations as areas that need to be monitored closely for their possible effect on truckload carriers. He also recognizes that current economic conditions are still unstable, making it more and more difficult for carriers to stay afloat. “So my goals, really, are working with the membership and doing everything we can as an association to bring balance to the issues with which we are confronted,” he says.

Kaburick, who is known for his straightforward leadership style, is a strong proponent of TCA’s Benchmarking program, which provides carriers with a results-oriented forum for sharing practices and processes that may help to reduce costs and improve efficiencies. He also sees much value in the educational and networking opportunities available to TCA members and plans to promote these to current and prospective members as much as possible. “Basically, I will work as hard as I can to act with other officers and do what it takes to move TCA forward, while remaining a very well-respected association in the trucking industry,” he says.

The following individuals have been elected to assist Kaburick and will serve as officers until the next Annual Convention:
First Vice Chairman: Gary Salisbury, president and chief executive officer, Fikes Truck Line Inc., Hope, Ark.
Second Vice Chairman: Robert E. Low, president and founder, Prime Inc., Springfield, Mo.
Treasurer: Tom Kretsinger Jr., president and chief operating officer, American Central Transport Inc., Liberty, Mo.
Secretary: Keith Tuttle, president, Motor Carrier Service Inc., Northwood, Ohio
Association Vice President to ATA: Lance Craig, CEO and president, Craig Transportation Co., Perrysburg, Ohio
Immediate Past Chairman: Kevin Burch, president, Jet Express Inc., Dayton, Ohio
At-Large Officer: Shepard Dunn, president and CEO, Bestway Express Inc., Vincennes, Ind.
At-Large Officer: Don Hayden, president, M & M Cartage Co. Inc., Louisville, Ky.
At-Large Officer: Russell Stubbs, president, FFE Transportation Services Inc., Dallas
At-Large Officer: Tom Witt, president, Roehl flatbed and specialized, Roehl Transport, Marshfield, Wis.