2010 ATD Commercial Truck of the Year winners to be announced April 25

user-gravatar Headshot
Updated Mar 31, 2010

The winners of the American Truck Dealers Commercial Truck of the Year for 2010 will be announced at the ATD Convention & Expo on Sunday, April 25, in Orlando, Fla. Two winners – a medium- and heavy-duty truck – will be selected from a list of seven nominees. The medium-duty contest is new this year.

The medium-duty truck (Classes 3-7) nominees are the Kenworth T370 Diesel-Electric Hybrid, 2011 Hino 268, Freightliner Business Class M2 112 Natural Gas and Peterbilt Model 337. The heavy-duty truck (Class 8 ) nominees are the Kenworth T660 Extended Day Cab, Freightliner Coronado and Peterbilt Model 384.

“We are excited to continue this prestigious award,” says Pamela Hall, ATD convention chairwoman. “Our industry continues to make strides in fuel economy, clean air technology, design, driver satisfaction and safety. We are proud to recognize these innovative trucks and hope to make it a coveted award in years to come.”

Judging criteria is based on innovation, design, fuel economy, driver and owner satisfaction, ease of maintenance and safety. The judging panel consists of journalists from leading truck publications in North America. Last year, International LoneStar was named ATD Commercial Truck of the Year in the heavy-duty category.

Several hundred of the nation’s commercial truck dealers will attend the ATD convention, which runs April 23-26, at the Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center in Orlando. Convention keynote speakers are Kyle Treadway, ATD chairman; Dennis Slagle, president and chief executive officer, North American Trucks (Volvo and Mack); and Jim Meil, economist for the Eaton Corp.