DOT appoints new Advisory Council on Transportation Statistics members

user-gravatar Headshot

The U.S. Department of Transportation announced the appointment of 10 new members to the Advisory Council on Transportation Statistics to advise DOT’s Bureau of Transportation Statistics, a part of the Research and Innovative Technology Administration, on statistical matters. The new appointees replace previous ACTS members whose terms expired.

“We are bringing together a knowledgeable group from diverse parts of the transportation community to provide their expertise to the Department,” U.S. Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood says. “The new ACTS members will assist the department in coordinating data and statistics with our work on transportation systems for the future.”

ACTS was created by the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU) of 2005 to advise BTS on the quality, reliability, consistency, objectivity and relevance of transportation statistics and analyses collected, supported or disseminated by BTS and DOT.

The new members are Christina Casgar, San Diego Port Authority; Robert Costello, American Trucking Associations; Elizabeth Deakin, University of California, Berkeley; George Donohue, George Mason University; John Gray, Association of American Railroads; Michael Replogle, Institute for Transportation and Development Policy; Anthony Kane, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials; Kara Kockelman, University of Texas at Austin; Leanna Depeau, Missouri Department of Transportation; and John-Paul Clarke, Georgia Institute of Technology.