ATA congratulates 2011 EPA SmartWay champions

user-gravatar Headshot

The American Trucking Associations on Tuesday, Oct. 18, congratulated the industry leaders and organizations the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency honored as 2011 SmartWay Champions during ATA’s annual Management Conference and Exhibition in Grapevine, Texas.

“Earlier this year, when the Obama administration released its historic fuel economy standards for large trucks, I hailed it as a model for how the government and industry can work together as partners to craft sensible regulations,” said Bill Graves, ATA president and chief executive officer. “Well, that partnership has its roots in the EPA SmartWay program, and the 12 individuals and organizations the agency has honored today deserve a great deal of credit for laying a solid foundation for future collaborative efforts.”

ATA says these SmartWay Champions have been chosen for their strong and lasting contributions to the success of the program:
• Glen Kedzie, ATA;
• Mitch England, C.R. England;
• James Jack, Center for Responsible Transportation;
• Elena Craft and Mark MacLeod, Environmental Defense Fund;
• Ikea Transport Team;
• Kristi Noland and Gary Whicker, J.B. Hunt Transport Inc.;
• Michael Cole, Timothy Dzojko and Harry Haney, Kraft Foods;
• Steve Palmer and Kevin Perry, Lowe’s Companies Inc.;
• John Sheehy and Mark Whittaker, Pepsico Inc.;
• Mark Servidio, Sharp Electronics Corp.;
• Dave Berry, Swift Transportation Corp.;
• Mike Kelley, YRC Worldwide Inc. and
• Dave Guernsey, UPS Inc.

“While all these individuals and their companies have made great contributions to the success of SmartWay, I want to particularly recognize Glen Kedzie from ATA, as well as ATA leaders like C.R. England, Swift, YRC and UPS, for their leadership on sustainability and fuel efficiency issues,” Graves said.