Heartland names finance, economics professor to board

user-gravatar Headshot
Updated Oct 31, 2011

Heartland Express Inc. announced that Tahira K. Hira has been named to its board of directors, where she will serve as a member of Heartland’s audit committee, nominating committee and compensation committee .

“Tahira brings extensive financial expertise and leadership skills to our board,” says Michael Gerdin, chairman and chief executive officer of the North Liberty, Iowa-based company. “She has received numerous awards and recognition for outstanding academic and research achievements. Tahira’s background and expertise will benefit the current and future shareholders of Heartland Express.”

Dr. Hira is currently executive assistant to the president at Iowa State University and a professor of personal finance and consumer economics. She is internationally known as a leader in the field of personal finance and consumer economics. She has served as the associate vice provost for ISU Extension and has taught and conducted research in family financial management, investing, consumer credit, gambling and consumer bankruptcy in the United States and abroad.

Dr. Hira’s accomplishments includes being appointed to the U.S. President’s Advisory Council on Financial Literacy by President George W. Bush, being appointed to the Iowa Student Loan Board by former Iowa Gov. Chet Culver, serving as external assessor at the Universiti Putra Malaysia, serving on the editorial boards of journals and as a reviewer for several others in her field. She also has served on several national committees and boards.

Dr. Hira has published numerous professional papers and book chapters and has given numerous invited national and international presentations on topics such as the social and psychological aspects of the borrowing and investment behaviors of middle and high income Americans, consumer bankruptcy, consumer credit, gambling and the borrowing behavior of college students. Dr. Hira currently is chairing the NYSE Euronext Financial Literacy Advisory committee.