Company Driver, Owner-Operator of the Year named

user-gravatar Headshot
Updated Mar 7, 2012

CCJ sister publication Truckers News and the Truckload Carriers Association named John Moeller as grand prize winner of the 2011 Company Driver of the Year competition Tuesday night at TCA’s annual convention in Kissimmee, Fla. Moeller received a Cummins-powered Ram truck.

Sponsored by Cummins Inc. and Ram, the Company Driver of the Year contest recognizes and pays tribute to the top company drivers in the United States and Canada. Moeller was selected based on safe driving, efforts to enhance the public image of the trucking industry and positive contributions to his community.

Moeller has spent his entire 31-year career with Roehl Transport Inc. of Marshfield, Wis., and has driven more than 4.1 million accident-free miles. He has been selected as the Roehl Driver of the Year several times and has earned numerous company awards for performance. In addition, he has been a member of the Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association’s President’s Safe Driving Club for several years.

Moeller describes himself as having a “strong sense of dedication” to his job as a driver. His primary goal is to protect other drivers. He frequently helps newer truckers by answering their questions, showing them the proper ways to do things and passing on values of respect and courtesy.

“John is the standard bearer for what it means to be a professional driver,” said John Spiros, vice president of safety and claims management for Roehl. “John’s service to our industry enhances the image of trucking in a profound way. His performance charts the course for all drivers, and all trucking professionals, to follow.”

Two other truck drivers were honored in the 2011 competition. James Coles, who drives for MacKinnon Transport Inc. of Guelph, Ontario, and Ronald Round, who drives for Pottle’s Transportation Inc. of Bangor, Maine, received honorable mentions. Coles has driven more than 1.5 million accident-free miles over a 32-year career, while Round has driven 1.3 million accident-free miles over a 21-year career.

Larry Severson, leased to Dart Transit of Eagan, Minn., was selected the Overdrive TCA 2011 Owner-Operator of the Year. “I’m just doing a job I love, but if others have felt my efforts are worthy of that title, I’m honored and humbled,” said Severson.

Two other owner-operators were honored in the 2011 competition. Kirby Killgore, leased to O&S Trucking, of Springfield, Mo., and Bryan Smith, leased to Art Pape Transfer, of Dubuque, Iowa, received honorable mentions.

Like Truckers News, Overdrive also is a sister publication of CCJ. All are properties of Randall-Reilly Publishing Co.