LMTA’s Gautreaux wins ATA President’s TAEC Leadership Award

user-gravatar Headshot

Cathy Gautreaux

Cathy Gautreaux was named the winner of the American Trucking Associations President’s Trucking Association Executives Council Leadership Award on Monday, Oct. 8, during the group’s annual Management Conference & Exhibition in Las Vegas, Nev. Gautreaux, executive director of the Louisiana Motor Transport Association, was honored for her leadership, dedication and achievements on behalf of the trucking industry in Louisiana.

“Our state trucking associations are crucial to the success of American Trucking Associations,” said Bill Graves, ATA president and chief executive officer. “Cathy has advocated vigorously on behalf of the entire trucking industry. From her tireless efforts on the anti-indemnification issue in Louisiana, to her annual visits with the Call on Washington program and her support of the industry’s image and outreach programs, Cathy is recognized as an untouchable advocate of ATA and the industry.”

The President’s TAEC Leadership Award, sponsored by J.J. Keller, was created by ATA in 2002 to honor a state trucking association leader and create an enduring legacy for that leader and for the industry. The award comes with a $10,000 grant for a nonprofit 501(c)(3) trucking education or research organization chosen by Gautreaux.

“It is wonderful to see Cathy receive this kind of recognition,” said John Hausladen, president of the Minnesota Trucking Association, current TAEC chairman and a previous winner of the award. “Cathy has always been a strong advocate for the trucking industry and a staunch supporter of the ATA federation. My colleagues and I wish her the best and congratulate her on this much-deserved award.”

Other TAEC members recognized for service included:
• Mike Riley, president, Motor Transport Association of Connecticut – 25 years of service
• Lane Kidd, president, Arkansas Trucking Association, and Jim Runk, president and CEO, Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association – 20 years;
• Dave Creer, executive director, Utah Trucking Association – 15 years
• Dan Case, executive director, Oklahoma Trucking Association – 10 years; and
• Kathy Fowers, president, Idaho Trucking Association; Jamie Fiepke, president and CEO, Kentucky Motor Transport Association; and David Roberts, president, Mississippi Trucking Association – 5 years.

TAEC, comprised of staff executives of state trucking associations and conferences affiliated with ATA, serves to promote the trucking industry; contribute to the improvement of the associations and organizations established to serve the trucking industry; and advance the professional stature and capabilities of the managers and executives of such associations.