ATA honors 15 recipients of EPA SmartWay Excellence Award

Cannon Mug Headshot

img_3875The American Trucking Associations recognized 15 of its membership as winners of the EPA’s SmartWay Excellence Awards at the ATA Management Conference & Exhibition in Las Vegas Monday.

Among this year’s winners of the SmartWay Excellence Award are Challenger Motor Freight Inc., Heritage Transport LLC, Old Dominion Freight Line Inc., Pitt Ohio, CRST Expedited Inc., Roehl Transport Inc., Doug Andrus Distributing LLC, UPS Small Package, Swift Transportation Co., U.S. Xpress Enterprises Inc., Bison Transport Inc., Cargo Transporters, Dedicated Transport LLC, Mesilla Valley Transportation and OutWest Express LLC.

EPA’s SmartWay Transport Partnership is a market-driven initiative that empowers businesses to move goods in the cleanest, most energy-efficient way possible, while protecting public health and reducing the impacts of climate change. Demonstration of a commitment to corporate sustainability and social responsibility through SmartWay provides for a more competitive and environmentally-friendly business environment.  Since 2004, SmartWay Partners have saved 170.3 million barrels of oil—the equivalent of eliminating annual energy use in over 6 million homes and $24.9 billion in fuel costs. SmartWay’s clean air achievements (72.8 million metric tons of carbon dioxide, 1,458,000 tons of nitrogen oxides, and 59,000 tons of particulate matter emissions avoided) help to protect the well-being of citizens.

Jason Cannon has written about trucking and transportation for more than a decade and serves as Chief Editor of Commercial Carrier Journal. A Class A CDL holder, Jason is a graduate of the Porsche Sport Driving School, an honorary Duckmaster at The Peabody in Memphis, Tennessee, and a purple belt in Brazilian jiu jitsu. Reach him at [email protected]