New members named to ATRI’s Research Advisory Committee

user-gravatar Headshot
Updated Dec 21, 2016

The American Transportation Research Institute’s Board of Directors named 17 new industry stakeholders to its Research Advisory Committee for the 2017-2018 term, while also extending the terms of 16 current members of the RAC.

The committee’s job is to prioritize the top research topics for the trucking industry each year. New members of the RAC represent trucking companies, trucking organizations, government agencies and more.

“The RAC serves a critical role in developing and prioritizing research proposals that address the trucking industry’s top issues,” said Rebecca Brewster, ATRI president and COO. “We applaud those appointed by the Board to serve in this important role and we look forward to working with them.”

Scott Mugno, vice president of safety, sustainability and vehicle maintenance for FedEx Ground, was named the RAC’s chairman for the two-year term. Other new members of the committee include:

•Jon Blackham, Canadian Trucking Alliance
•Bill Brown, Southeastern Freight Lines
•Scott George, TCW, Inc.
•Dr. Mike Golias, Intermodal Freight Transportation Institute – University of Memphis
•Stan Hampton, J.B. Hunt
•Victor Hart, Dot Transportation
•Ken Howden, U.S. Department of Energy
•Kelly Killingsworth, Walmart
•Victoria King, UPS
•Dustin Koehl, Total Transportation of Mississippi
•Caroline Mays, Texas Department of Transportation
•Lisa Mullings, National Association of Truck Stop Operators
•Tom Murtha, Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning
•Deputy Chief Mark Savage, Colorado State Patrol
•Carl Stebbins, New England Tractor Trailer Training School
•Harold Sumerford Jr., J&M Tank Lines
•Jim Ward, D.M. Bowman

A full list of committee members can be seen here.