Awards are not only good for the fleet, but good for the industry

Jim Ward Headshot
Updated Jan 13, 2022

The Truckload Carriers Association earlier this month, alongside competition sponsor Great West Casualty Company, announced the 18 division winners in the 46th Annual TCA Fleet Safety Awards competition.

These annual awards identify truckload carriers that have demonstrated an unparalleled commitment to safety through presenting the lowest accident frequency ratios per million miles in each of six mileage-based divisions.

The 18 division winners are now invited to compete for one of two grand prizes – one for carriers with a total annual mileage less than 25 million miles, and the other for carriers with mileage greater than 25 million miles.

The process begins each Fall with TCA members submitting online applications. The winners are selected based on their accident ratios for the given year. Division winners are subject to an audit for ratio accuracy and invited to compete for one of two grand prizes.

Grand prize winners will be announced at Truckload 2022: Las Vegas – TCA’s Annual Convention – during Tuesday evening’s Closing Banquet. Make plans to join us for this exciting announcement on Tuesday, March 22.

Additionally, all 18 winners – as well as the grand prize winners – will receive recognition at TCA’s 2022 Safety & Security Meeting June 5-7 in Nashville.

To view the full list of division winners, click here.

This year’s first-time winners are:

Division I Winners (less than 5 million miles)

1st Place: JR Kays Trucking, Inc., Clarendon, Pennsylvania 

3rd Place: Meyers Bros. Trucking, Pioneer, Ohio

Division II Winners (5-14.99 million miles)

1st Place: Parish Transport, Ellisville, Mississippi

2nd Place: X-Treme Trucking LLC, Maribel, Wisconsin

Division III Winners (15-24.99 million miles)

1st Place: Fortune Transportation, Windom, Minnesota

Division IV Winners (25-49.99 million miles)

3rd Place: American Central Transport, Inc., Kansas City, Missouri 

Division V Winners (50-99.99 million miles):

2nd Place: Brown Trucking Company, Lithonia, Georgia

3rd Place: Challenger Motor Freight, Inc., Cambridge, Ontario

Division VI Winners (100 million or more miles):

3rd Place: Prime Inc., Springfield, Missouri 

We asked a few of the first-time winners what this accomplishment means to them and their fleet.

“It’s an honor to recognize the success of our professional commercial vehicle operators who operate safely each day to protect the motoring public,” shared Brown Integrated Logistics Vice President of Safety Kristene Turner. Brown placed second in the Division V category.

JR Kays Trucking President Mike Fitzsimmons agreed. “A national recognition of this magnitude truly speaks volumes to the kind of family we have at JR Kays Trucking. Our driver-focused approach of always putting driver safety first is what gives us this edge, but it really comes naturally to all of us at JR Kays,” he said.

JR Kays Trucking, Inc. placed first in the Division 1 category.

“When we can all come together and see how our collective efforts have produced such a great recognition, we can all take this moment to truly appreciate how our core values and respect for our drivers and this industry can go a long way in safety,” added Fitzsimmons.

Not sure if your company has what it takes to be named one of the industry’s safest fleets? “Apply for the awards TCA offers,” urged Turner. “Do this to support the recognition of your company and drivers, but all other carriers as well.”

Fitzsimmons echoed her sentiments. “Participating in this award is a great way to honor your drivers. They are the ones who are setting the bar to the level of safety standards that you possess and practice, so through recognitions like this, drivers can see just how much they are respected and valued when they are part of your team.”

For more information about TCA’s Fleet Safety Awards, including eligibility requirements and rules, visit the Fleet Safety Awards page. To view images from historic Fleet Safety Awards presentations, visit TCA’s Flickr.

I look forward to seeing your fleet, or your customers, included in our winner’s list in 2022. 

Jim Ward is president of D.M. Bowman, a 382-truck fleet based in Williamsport, Maryland. Under his direction, the company has transitioned from truckload carrier to a full-service transportation company, offering its customers dedicated fleet services, short haul, linehaul, brokerage, logistics and warehousing for dry van, flatbed, bulk and specialty services. Ward is the 2021-2022 chairman of the Truckload Carriers Association and is TCA's incoming president.