Please disable your Ad Blocker in your browser's extentions.

2016 Driver of the Year finalists named, two truckers to receive $25,000

Three company drivers and three owner-operators have been named finalists in the annual Driver of the Year contest produced by the Truckload Carriers Association and CCJ sister publications Overdrive and Truckers News.

The contests are sponsored by Cummins and Love’s Travel Stops.

Both the Company Driver of the Year and Owner-Operator of the Year contests carry a $25,000 prize.  The winners will be announced March 28 at TCA’s annual meeting in Nashville, Tennessee.

Owner-operators Gary Buchs (Landstar), Philip Keith (WEL Companies) and Kevin Kocmich (Diamond Transportation System) have been named finalists for the Owner-Operator of the Year award. Read more on the Owner-Operator of the Year finalists.

The three finalists for the Company Driver of the Year award are Murray Manuliak (Bison Transport), David McGowan (WEL Companies) and William Poteet (Saddle Creek Logistics). Read more on the Company Driver of the Year finalists.

“Our nation’s economy depends on the health and strength of the trucking industry, and at the heart of it is the driver,” said Amy Boerger, vice president of sales for Cummins.

Jon Archard, vice president of sales for Love’s Travel Stops, added, “We know that to sustain growth we need the continued support of our trucking customers and professional drivers, and we could not be more proud to support TCA’s Driver of the Year award.”

The six finalists Driver of the Year finalists will receive a trip to TCA’s Nashville meeting. The four runner-up finalists will receive $2,500 each.

To be eligible for the contest, driver applicants had to have one million consecutive accident-free miles and meet other standards.


There is one comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *