Trucking Association Executives’ Council elects officers

user-gravatar Headshot

The Trucking Association Executives’ Council recently elected Cathy Gautreaux, executive director of the Louisiana Motor Transport Association, as national chairman for 2006-2007 at its annual meeting held July 18-22 in Stowe, Vt. A graduate of Louisiana State University and a resident of Baton Rouge, Gautreaux has been with the LMTA representing the trucking industry for more than 21 years.

Other national officers elected for 2006-2007 are as follows: Vice Chairman, Karen Rasmussen, president and chief executive officer of the Arizona Trucking Association; Secretary/Treasurer, Bob Farrell, executive director of the National Automobile Carriers Conference; and Recording Secretary, Dave Gordon, vice president of federation relations of the American Trucking Associations.

Regional chairmen elected for 2006-2007 are as follows: Region I (Northeast): Anne Lynch, executive director of the Massachusetts Motor Transportation Association; Region II (Southeast): Dave Huneryager, president and CEO of the Tennessee Trucking Association; Region III (Midwest): George Billows, executive director of the Illinois Trucking Association; and Region IV (West): Rasmussen.

TAEC also recognized members who will retire this year: George Burruss of the Missouri Motor Carriers Association; Dean Cotton of the Mississippi Trucking Association; and Gordon.

Among the many issues discussed during the meeting were the repeal of the Single State Registration System, implementation of the Unified Carrier Registration, lessons learned from the Hurricane Katrina and 9/11 disasters, Highway Watch funding, biodiesel, highway reauthorization and building the ATA grassroots team.

The Bob Halladay Award was presented to Peter Vroom of the Truck Rental and Leasing Association for his support and commitment to TAEC and the trucking industry. The award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions in assisting and supporting the work and efforts of the state trucking associations.

TAEC Chairman Bob Sculley, president of the New Hampshire Motor Transport Association and Vermont Truck and Bus Association, presented the award to Vroom during the farewell dinner. “Peter really gets it,” said Sculley. “He understands the true value of the state associations and their role on the legislative front. Peter and TRALA have been strong and reliable partners in pursuing state issues and have also been there for us when we needed help at the national level.”

“I am honored to receive such a prestigious industry award,” said Vroom. “The state trucking associations are the backbone of the truck transportation industry and are critically important to TRALA’s success. The friendships gained throughout my years of involvement with TAEC have been one of the most rewarding aspects of the relationship. It’s just been a great family to be part of, and I look forward to my continuing involvement and collaboration on advocacy efforts for many years to come.”

TAEC is comprised of staff executives of state trucking associations and conferences affiliated with ATA. TAEC serves to promote the trucking industry; contribute to the improvement of the associations and organizations established to serve the trucking industry; and advance the professional stature and capabilities of the managers and executives of such associations.