TCA announces Driver of the Year contest finalists

user-gravatar Headshot

The Truckload Carriers Association, along with contest co-sponsors Truckers News and Overdrive Magazine, has announce the top finalists for the Independent Contractor of the Year and Company Equipment Driver of the Year contests. The 30 finalists were chosen on the basis of miles driven without accidents, as well as a review of their driving records and moving and hours-of-service violations.

The contest is open to TCA carrier member drivers who have logged more than a million miles while adhering to the strictest safety standards. The drivers listed below now will complete the second part of the application, due Dec. 15, and official judges will choose the top five winners in each contest. The top three winners for both contests will be announced at the TCA 2007 Annual Convention at the Bellagio Resort in Las Vegas, Nev., on March 11-14.

Company Driver of the Year contest finalists:

  • Jay Banick, Lawrence Transportation Services
  • Brett Campbell, O&S Trucking
  • James Conner, Team Transport
  • Robert Deal, Cargo Transporters Inc.
  • Steven Eckhoff, Hogan Transporters Inc.
  • Robert Hess Jr., D.M. Bowman Inc.
  • Edward Hosier, O&S Trucking
  • Jean-Charles Huard, Robert Transport
  • Eugene Hubbard, Regal Service Co.
  • Kenneth Luther, Sherman Bros. Heavy Trucking
  • Vernon Mosher, Sherman Bros. Heavy Trucking
  • Bruce Pfeffer, Smithway Motor Xpress Inc.
  • Dwight Phoenix, Martini Inc.
  • Denis Sansoucy, Robert Transport
  • Steven Udelhoven, Art Pape Transfer Inc.
  • Independent Contractor of the Year contest finalists:

  • Bruce Barnes, Witte Brothers Exchange
  • Albert Beck, Dart Transit Co.
  • Constance and Lanny Beyer, MCT Transportation
  • Charles Boyles, Landstar Ranger Inc.
  • Joe Chitwood, O&S Trucking
  • Steven Recker, Warren Transport Inc.
  • Jack Laughlin, Regal Service Co.
  • Charles Maly, Shaffer Trucking Inc.
  • Kerry Marvin, Cornhusker Motor Lines Inc.
  • Robert McCray, Warren Transport Inc.
  • Stacy Moran, Contract Freighters Inc.
  • Gary Nelson, Robert Transport
  • Paul Tetrault, Robert Transport
  • Gibert Wolf, Bradway Trucking Inc.
  • The grand-prize winner of the Independent Contractor of the Year contest will receive a new fully-loaded International tractor. The top five winners in both contests will receive numerous prizes, including cash, savings bonds, trucking supplies and gift cards donated by supplier companies.