Virginia Trucking Association elects officers

user-gravatar Headshot

R. Carl Bumgarner — president and chief executive officer of Fleetmaster Express of Roanoke, Va. — has been elected president of the Virginia Trucking Association, the statewide trade association of Virginia’s trucking industry.

Bumgarner is a third-generation trucking company executive and principal who began his career in trucking when he joined Fleetmaster Express, which his father founded in 1987; in 1997, he was elected president of the company. He is a past president of the Southwest Virginia Maintenance Council and the Southwest Virginia Transportation Council, and is a director of Traffic Insurance Limited and the General Electric Trailer Fleet Services advisory board.

Fleetmaster also has locations in Danville and Chesapeake, Va.; Eden, N.C.; Columbus and Findlay, Ohio; Kansas City, Mo.; Springdale, Ark.; Fort Worth, Texas; Albany, Ga.; and De Forest, Wis.

The other VTA officers elected are:

  • 1st Vice President – Harry G. Norris, president, Howells Motor Freight Inc., Roanoke;
  • 2nd Vice President – T. Guy Wilson, executive vice president, Wilson Trucking Corp., Fishersville, Va.;
  • 3rd Vice President – Douglas Z. Houff, president, Houff Transfer, Weyers Cave, Va.;
  • Treasurer Gary Okes, treasurer/chief financial officer, Estes Express Lines, Richmond, Va.; and
  • Secretary and Executive Vice President – Dale Bennett, Virginia Trucking Association, Richmond.
  • In addition to the above-named officers, elected to the VTA Executive Committee were Mark B. Goodwin, senior executive vice president and general counsel, UPS Freight Inc., Richmond; Richard O. “Rick” Harrell III, president, R.O. Harrell Inc., South Boston, Va.; Gary W. Short, founder and CEO, Atlantic Bulk Carrier Corp., Providence Forge, Va.; James R. Harris Jr., CEO, Harris Transportation System, Madison Heights, Va.; Richard H. Eanes, president, Warren Trucking Co., Martinsville, Va.; and James E. Hartman, president, Truck Enterprises, Harrisonburg, Va.